Autumn Scene


Whilst I was walking around Valle Crucis Abbey I came across this little pond situated way behind the abbey. The colours from the trees and the surrounding hills really stood out as did the reflections on the pond. On the day I visited the abbey it was so peaceful and quiet, almost eerie. No tourists, hardly any wind, so the pond was still which made for good reflections, clear blue skies, too blue in some ways but hey you can’t have everything. I suppose I could have cropped the sky out…..

Technical Note: Image is a bracket of 5 RAW from -2 to +2 in 1 EV steps taken with a Samsung GX10 fitted with an 18-50mm kit lens @ 26mm. ISO 200, f11, shutter speeds from 1/60 sec to 1/4 sec. Camera was mounted on a RedSnapper RS-284 & RSH-12 Ball Head and the shutter was fired using infra-red remote control. HDR processing was with Unified Color‘s HDR Expose witha touch of NIK Color Efex Glamour Glow

