The 2012 Rhyl Air Show – Day Two


Before reading this I suggest you read both of the Day One posts. The 2012 Rhyl Air Show – Day One, Part One and The 2012 Rhyl Air Show – Day One, Part Two

Clear blue skies and a high cloud ceiling meant there was going to be another fantastic day of flying. My intention today was to capture some photographs of the USAF KC135 which was flying about mid-program. The flying display didn’t start until 14:00 so I had time to get the dogs down on the beach for a good brisk walk. By 10:00 the sea front was already getting crowded, I don’t know why, maybe people thought the displays started at 12:30 again. Anyway, armed with Factor 50 lotion, I got down the beach about 13:45. Boy was it crowded. I’ve never seen so many people on the beach and promenade area.

Right, onto the flying display. The Search and Rescue demonstration had to be cancelled due to an operational tasking for the helicopter so first up was the Hawk that had performed at yesterday’s display.

Hawk

Next came The Blades.

The Blades

The Blades fly Extra EA-300‘s, which are low-wing, high performance aircraft designed specially for extreme aerobatic manoeuvres.

Blades

The Blades display lasts about 15 minutes and is really breath-taking with about 30 different manoeuvres performed.

The Blades

Some of the aerobatic manoeuvres performed involve all of the aircraft, two of them or just a single aircraft.

After The Blades there were displays from the Spitfire, King Air and the Red Hawks, but I was waiting for the big one…the Boeing KC-135 Stratotanker

KC 135

The KC-135 is an aerial refuelling military aircraft. It and the Boeing 707 airliner were developed from the Boeing 367-80 prototype. The KC-135 was the US Air Force’s first jet-powered refuelling tanker and replaced the KC-97 Stratotanker. The Stratotanker was initially tasked to refuel strategic bombers, but was used extensively in the Vietnam War and later conflicts such as Operation Desert Storm to extend the range and endurance of US tactical fighters and bombers.

Well, that’s it from me. Despite the Factor 50 lotion I could still feel my face burning and when the organisers announced that the main road had been closed, due to a serious accident, I felt it was a good time to make my exit.

I hope you enjoyed what has been for a great two days and I’ll leave you with this little snippet of information. During the two days I took 1182 photographs. I know I will not use all of them, but I’ve found the best way to capture the high speed action of an air show is to put my camera on continuous shutter firing. That way I can track the aircraft in the sky as it flies in front of me. I can then cherry-pick the photographs I want to display or sell.

6 thoughts on “The 2012 Rhyl Air Show – Day Two

  1. Steve Ransome July 23, 2012 / 20:30

    That Hawk shot is an absolute belter Mike. Pity about the SAR being cancelled but then I guess, real-life took over and quite right too. Probably some idiot on Snowdon!!! A smashing set Mike. Congrats.

    Like

  2. Galen July 24, 2012 / 04:57

    This is an absolutely awesome collection of images Mike. Thank you…

    Like

  3. John Marsden August 4, 2013 / 19:27

    Simply stunning photo graphs

    Like

You've got this far...let me know what you think about this post.

