Artizen Dramatic


I was lucky enough to pick up a copy of Artizen Dramatic V3.0 recently. It’s a dynamic Photoshop plug-in filter which gives photographers an enormous amount of control over the detail, color and contrast of a photo in a single filter.

Supporting Computers Inc, the makers of Artizen claim that Dramatic easily achieves breathtaking shots by utilizing state of the art multi scale technology. This adds depth where contrast is low and exposes detail in low exposed areas of an image. In addition to this, Dramatic also has a full set of color functions that allow users to create striking black and white or vibrant color results. To achieve this Dramatic has 24 built-in presets or you can go manual and adjust the sliders yourself…….quite often I used a preset to get the approximate look I wanted and then did final adjustments manually. 

Supporting Computers claim;

“Dramatic is one of the few Photoshop plug-ins that can work with High Dynamic Range images, resulting in the most detailed breathtaking results”.

Now that’s really good, but it’s not limited to just 32 bit HDR, I was able  it with both 16 bit and 8 bit images. Artizen Dramatic is installed like any other plug-in. The interface is clean, easy to use and called from the filters menu in Photoshop. 

There are presets for HDR images and also for JPEG‘s, TIFF‘s or single RAW. During processing I would normally select a pre-set and then tweak the various settings for Exposure, Detail and Colour

So what’s the final output like. The image below was a single RAW from the Fuji S9600. It was brought into Photoshop with ACR default settings.

 Let’s see what happens when we apply the Artizen Dramatic filter, here’s the same image

 I know which one I prefer, in this case, the preset used was LDR Natural Detailed. OK lets look at another one. This time I’m going to go for a close-up image to see what the fine detail is like.

Once again this was a single RAW image, only this time it came from a Samsung GX-10 DSLR. As before, the original RAW was brought straight into Photoshop with no adjustments in ACR

For the squirrel I used the Artizen Dramatic Natural Soft preset. However, it was too severe on the background so I did a quick layer mask to correct this.

Finally a 32 bit image. For this I used 5 RAW’s and the Merge to HDR function in Photoshop. Once Photoshop had worked its magic I then used the Artizen Dramatic Natural Soft preset with a slight tweak to the greens. They were just too bright and green

All-in-all I’m reasonably impressed with this plug-in. I wouldn’t use it on every image, but I can think of a good few of mine that I would like to go back and apply this filter to.

I hope this gives you a brief insight into the Artizen Dramatic Filter for Photoshop. By the way Supporting Computers also have a Natural Filter for Photoshop. You can find out more about these filters and the Artizen HDR program from Supporting Computers website.

One thought on “Artizen Dramatic

  1. Tony Bevington March 19, 2010 / 09:21

    You,ve summed it up very well Mike, with these “Plugins” its knowing when and where to apply them…I,m begining to learn that with Photomatix – thats been a learning curve. !

    Like

Comments are closed.