Lone Tree In A Field Of Yellow Rape Seed


Sometimes you can be driving along a road and spot something worth photographing but there’s no way you can stop safely or even turn around. Maybe you take a detour and spot something  worth photographing but you don’t have time to stop. Or worse still, you can stop, but you don’t have your camera with you.  It’s happened to me often enough and I’m sure it must have happened to you.

Anyway, a couple of weeks ago I was heading along the A55 through North Wales, going to Llandudno from Prestatyn. There were major road works just as I joined the A55 and traffic was all backed up, so being local, I decided to jump off at the first junction and there it was. A lone tree standing in a field of newly planted rape seed. Best of all there was somewhere I could stop, park the car and get easy access.

What more could I ask for? Well a nice sunny day and something interesting happening in the sky would be nice. Oh! Of course and the rape seed to be all nice and yellow….

And that’s what it was last weekend. Lovely yellow field, nice green tree and a blue sky with wispy cloud and some high-flying airline vapour trails. Perfect just perfect. Needless to say I spent a good bit of time here.

4 thoughts on “Lone Tree In A Field Of Yellow Rape Seed

  1. Mike Hardisty May 5, 2011 / 10:22

    Just found out that this image has been chosen as an Editors Pick on HDR Spotting.

    Like

  2. Sathya May 17, 2011 / 21:17

    Congrats on the selection … Well deserved one !
    Though entirely different, this reminds me very much of my shot of the rapeseed fields and all the more the way it was shot 🙂

    Like

  3. DigitalBlind May 21, 2011 / 03:19

    Wonderful photo! Congratulations on the Editor’s pick!

    Like

Comments are closed.