Practice Makes Perfect


I’m thinking of paying a visit to the Red Kite Feeding station at Gigrin Farm next month. I’ll be using my Sigma 150-500mm lens for that one so I thought I’d get a bit of practice in, especially as it’s a three-hour drive and I want to get it right first time. So I need a relatively large bird, that moves reasonably fast and I’ve got the ideal candidate nearby. Now one thing there’s no shortage of, living near the coast, is gulls….perfect for practicing with especially if they are swooping for food.

Level Flight

One of the things I have found is that you can often get a perfect, pin sharp image and when you look really closely you see you have just clipped the edge of the wing or tail out of the shot. If that happens I usually just go for a portrait, maybe the head and a little of the wings.

Eye Eye

 It’s only a quick post so look out for my Red Kite images coming soon.

2 thoughts on “Practice Makes Perfect

  1. DigitalBlind May 21, 2011 / 03:24

    How do you like the Sigma 150-500mm? I’ve got a Nikon 80-200mm that I’ve been using for shots of birds, and find myself wanting more reach. I shoot a cropped format sensor, so the 500mm would be a 750mm equivalent, but how sharp are the photos? Looking forward to you next post!

    Like

  2. Mike Hardisty May 21, 2011 / 07:37

    It’s a heavy item to have in your bag but I have managed to get some very good shots of birds. Personally I think it’s a bit soft at the 500 end but I’m not sure if it’s the camera. I use a Samsung GX-10, a friend of mine uses Canon and his images are always sharper than mine. There again he shoots JPEG, I always shoot RAW. The Sigma does focus quickly and is very quiet. I wouldn’t use it in poor light either. Price now is very high, I bought mine before the big jump in prices that happened a couple of years ago.

    Like

Comments are closed.