Weekly Photo Challenge: Colorful


Two years ago I was lucky to attend the Weston-super-Mare Carnival which you can read about here During the carnival I shot off a load of images of people taking part. The original background to this image was a part of a carnival float but it was just too distracting, so I cut him out and added him to a background of my own.

Does that dark background work?

To cut him out I used a great program called Topaz Re-Mask, post processing in Photoshop was basically blending the layers and adding a touch of NIK Glamour Glow, which helps with blending the two layers. As the area around his eyes was dark I also used a bit of the Photoshop Dodge tool just to highlite the eyes.

37 thoughts on “Weekly Photo Challenge: Colorful

  1. suitablefish July 22, 2011 / 20:39

    Beyond the rich color, there is so much character in the clowns face that you captured. The black background works for me.

    Like

    • Mike Hardisty July 22, 2011 / 23:28

      I think what helped to bring out the character was the low light. The carnival is on a winters night and the only light is from the thousands of light bulbs on the floats. It meant I could photograph without using flash…

      Like

  2. Robin July 22, 2011 / 21:05

    Wow! That is one of the coolest photos I’ve seen in this week’s challenge – thanks for sharing it!

    Like

  3. ceceliafutch July 22, 2011 / 23:50

    Great photo. His face is so expressive. Colors are vivid and really pop. Thanks for sharing (and for visiting my blog…much appreciated.)

    Like

    • Mike Hardisty July 23, 2011 / 12:10

      Thank you. On the night I took this photograph he was the only one who did not acknowledge me, Others smiled but he just sort of stared into empty space.

      Like

  4. supersnails July 23, 2011 / 07:20

    I think the new background works very well. Great photo!

    Like

    • Mike Hardisty July 23, 2011 / 12:11

      The old background was very distracting and took away from that expressive face and colour of his outfit. I made the decision to mute the background by basically removing it and substituting something else.

      Like

    • Mike Hardisty July 23, 2011 / 12:12

      Thank You. I wasn’t sure whether to submit or not, especially as I changed the background.

      Like

  5. Connie T July 23, 2011 / 09:49

    This is a nice colorful photo. You take nice pictures.

    Like

    • Mike Hardisty July 23, 2011 / 12:13

      Thank you so much….it’s always nice to get compliments on your work.

      Like

  6. Isabelle July 23, 2011 / 16:20

    This background totally works ! Your subject is really in the center of the attention. That’s really a great colorfull photo ! Congratulation !!

    Like

  7. 2e0mca July 23, 2011 / 22:20

    An excellent study. I wonder how many years he’s been a clown? – there’s a few lifetimes in that face :-)

    Like

    • Mike Hardisty July 24, 2011 / 16:53

      I don’t think he was a clown. It was just a costume for the carnival, but I agree about his face, it’s so expressive…

      Like

  8. john tugano July 24, 2011 / 12:59

    heheh that as so colorful..even his face has this pink dominant color.

    Like

    • Mike Hardisty July 24, 2011 / 16:54

      Probably came from the lighting, I could have spent ages in Photoshop correcting things but in the end I just changed the background because it was too busy….

      Like

  9. Mizz July 24, 2011 / 16:17

    He seems to be a very content (colorful) clown!

    Like

    • Mike Hardisty July 24, 2011 / 16:55

      Personally I thought he was a “grumpy old man”, everyone else was smiling at the time, but maybe he had a lot to think about….

      Like

  10. Sheetal July 25, 2011 / 07:33

    To me this pic is symbolic fpr irony. Colours usually mean happy, joyous!
    This man looks very pained somehow.
    But an awesome click!

    Like

    • Mike Hardisty July 26, 2011 / 15:32

      As I said earlier, everyone was smiling but he just wanted to keep a straight face

      Like

  11. the island traveler July 25, 2011 / 08:19

    The dark background is perfect. It enhanced the bright colors of the subject. It appears more alive. Great choice.

    Like

  12. 4otomo July 25, 2011 / 16:45

    Hi! Great image! The background works completely with his sombre look, and then the contrast with the colour :-)
    Thanks for stopping by my blog and taking the time to leave a comment – appreciated :-)

    Like

  13. Josette July 26, 2011 / 04:11

    The dignity his face exudes is an interesting contrast to his clown suit and makeup. Great capture!

    Like

    • Mike Hardisty July 26, 2011 / 15:34

      I’m not sure if it was dignity or just not being happy about being there

      Like

  14. Patti Kuche July 26, 2011 / 17:27

    So much vivid colour and texture. Love the dark background with the silvery whisps.

    Like

    • Mike Hardisty July 27, 2011 / 07:28

      The backgrounds I make myself. I also make textures that can be used to give a photo a “grungy look”. The post My Old Boots is an example of using textures…..

      Like

You've got this far...let me know what you think about this post. But please note: in most cases, I don't approve self-promotional or off-topic comments, or those that don't add to the discussion.

