Aber Falls – A Taster


I’ve just spent the day at Aber Falls, probably one of the most impressive in North WalesAber Falls (Rhaeadr Fawr in Welsh) is a waterfall located about two miles (3 km) south of the village of AbergwyngregynGwynedd, Wales.

The waterfall is formed as the Afon Goch plunges about 120 feet (37 m) over a sill of igneous rock in the foothills of the Carneddau range. Two tributaries merge; the enlarged stream is known as Afon Rhaeadr Fawr; from the road bridge, Bont Newydd, the name becomes Afon Aber.

Taken further downstream from the falls this image is just a taster of the post I will be putting together with plenty of photographs to show the falls and the surrounding countryside which is quite spectacular.

This image is a 5 exposure HDR processed with HDR Express

3 comments

  1. Hi Mike

    Well the recent rain has done you a favour in providing plenty of water for this waterfall. I went there about 25 years ago and never been since. Funny how living here makes one take it all for granted. Nice work again Mike. I seem to have a lot more time on my hands now as work has dried up. Perhaps I will make the trip here myself and see if I can get a bit of inspiration.

    Like

    • Hi Steve…I’ve got visitors at the moment so I can’t spend enough time on this or anything else at the moment. I’m putting together a blog about this one with details of parking, how to get there etc.. Hopefully I should have it ready some time over the weekend. I wouldn’t mind another trip there. I took loads of photographs but still think I could do some better. I’ve got some great ones of the falls but I didn’t include any reference for people to see how high they really are, Still, they’re not that far away and the hike to them is not that bad….

      Like

Comments are closed.