52/2012 Week 6


I was out yesterday on a photo shoot in the Snowdonia National Park, North Wales, mainly to gather landscapes. Walking along the side of the river in Llanwrst, heading towards the old bridge, I managed to capture these two little beauties, purely by chance.

First up is the Blue Tit (Cyanistes caeruleus or Parus caeruleus), which is my entry for 52/2012 on Flickr. It’s a small passerine bird in the tit family Paridae and is easily recognisable by its blue and yellow plumage.

In the UK Blue Tits are resident and non-migratory birds. But they are widespread and a common resident breeder throughout temperate and subarctic Europe and Western Asia in deciduous or mixed woodlands with a high proportion of oak. They usually nest in tree holes, although they easily adapt to nest boxes where necessary. The main rivalry for nests and search for food is the much larger Great Tit.

The Blue Tit prefers insects and spiders for their diet. Outside the breeding season, they also eat seeds and other vegetable-based foods. Blue Tits are famed for their skill, as they can cling to the outermost branches and hang upside down when looking for food.

Next is probably my most favourite bird, the Robin. I have one resident in my garden but it’s impossible to photograph. It darts from the bushes to the feeders, has a quick peck of the seeds and is gone. You never know which feeder it’s going to go to making it impossible to get the photograph.

The European Robin (Erithacus rubecula), most commonly known in Anglophone Europe simply as the Robin, is a small insectivorous passerine bird that was formerly classed as a member of the thrush family (Turdidae), but is now considered to be an Old World Flycatcher (Muscicapidae). Around 12.5–14.0 cm (5.0–5.5 in) in length, the male and female are similar in colouration, with an orange breast and face lined with grey, brown upper parts and a whitish belly. It is found across Europe, east to Western Siberia and south to North Africa; it is sedentary in most of its range except the far north.

The term Robin is also applied to some birds in other families with red or orange breasts. These include the American Robin (Turdus migratorius), which is a thrush, and the Australian red robins of the genus Petroica, members of a family whose relationships are unclear.

7 comments

  1. Hi Mike

    See I told yer!!! Lol. I know you are into different things than birds, but a good photographer can lend himself to any subject I reckon. These are two super shots and thanks for putting the Blue on my Forum post.

    Great stuff.

    Steve

    Like

    • These two really were “by chance” shots, Steve. I’d put the 500mm on to catch a badge on the church tower and it was till on when I saw the blue tit. As I stood taking photographs of the tit I could hear the Robin in the trees behind me. Seemed too good to miss….

      Like

  2. Here in Canada we have, of course, the American Robins. (But I like to think of them as Canadian Robins…) I have several pairs who nest in our yard, and there is nothing shy about them. They will follow along behind me when I weed, staying about 6 feet away, eating any worms I unearth in my digging.

    Like

Comments are closed.