52/2012 Week 15


A lone tree in a field of yellow rapeseed

It’s that time of the year again and the rapeseed is in full bloom. Some good spring time sun followed by rain showers has brought the flowers on early, almost catching me on the hop.

Although I live near the sea all the land around me is very agricultural so I can usually guarantee that at least one field near me will display that brilliant yellow patchwork which is so good to photograph. A bonus is having a gnarled old tree in the field, which you can use as the main subject, and if you’re really lucky you’ll get a blue sky with some white clouds.

I got all three today and I nearly missed it. Early rain this morning meant I hadn’t planned to go out but “she who must be obeyed” decided we needed a trip to one of the bigger shopping centres, The result is that taking a shortcut to get onto the motorway I found this field.

I always have my camera with me when I go out so it didn’t take long to pull over take some photographs and get on our way.

I hope you like it….

9 comments

  1. Hi Mike….Is that Rape I see all around. A lovely setting for your “old three” nice one M8y

    Like

  2. I love the calmness of the image, but I have to say I haven’t heard anyone call this “rapeseed” in many years, it has been rebranded and everyone seems to be calling it canola! either way it is a pretty yellow flower, that should be blooming mid july where I live!

    Like

Comments are closed.