Facebook, I Want My Friends Back!


If you are a Facebook user you really should read this article at Dangerous Minds. The article explains how Facebook are “turning down the volume on your Facebook reach”.  Every time you post on Facebook only a fraction of your total “fans” are seeing the post.

I know I have noticed that I’m getting less comments on everything I post to Facebook. More importantly I’m missing notifications from pages I’m following.

To read the article, follow the link http://dangerousminds.net/comments/facebook_i_want_my_friends_back.

Please spread the word to other bloggers either by re-blogging this article or writing something about it on your blog

14 thoughts on “Facebook, I Want My Friends Back!

  1. Patti Kuche October 25, 2012 / 21:44

    and I thought it was just me, being lazy and boring . . . .

    Like

    • Mike Hardisty October 26, 2012 / 08:08

      I noticed it a while back but didn’t really think much of it, then starting last month I noticed I wasn’t getting comments from friends the same way and was also missing updates from my local camera store and some of the bigger camera manufacturers. Then I saw the article…..

      Like

  2. hugmamma October 25, 2012 / 22:17

    I’ll pass the word along… and thanks for sharing.

    Like

    • Mike Hardisty October 26, 2012 / 08:09

      Thank you, The more who know, the more chance we have of getting FB to change things.

      Like

      • hugmamma October 26, 2012 / 14:43

        We can only hope. Facebook, like other capitalist ventures, is in it to make money…first, last, and foremost. The social networking part of it is now secondary. Zuckerberg knows members are hooked for good and will deal with whatever he throws our way.

        As in life, we have to figure out how to fit into the grand scheme of things…while still striving to…get out the vote…

        Like

        • Mike Hardisty October 26, 2012 / 16:07

          There’s a growing movement to switch to Google+ who say they will never charge…..but, I’m not so sure. Maybe I should dust off that old Google+ account and start looking for some friends.

          Like

          • hugmamma October 26, 2012 / 20:01

            Let me know. I’ll follow you. You’re worth it. 🙂

            Like

          • Digital Lady Syd October 28, 2012 / 20:05

            I have been thinking the same thing – I have a fairly robust Google+ acct that I have not been paying that much attention to.

            Like

  3. It seems every time that I figure out FB they change it. It also became too time consuming. So now, I just post my pictures and move on … to Twitter, WordPress, Flickr … this is where I live now. Something happened, I reconnect with the people who are the closest to me … via email and meeting for coffee!

    Like

  4. Mike Hardisty October 26, 2012 / 16:09

    Hi Frank, I’ve always had a love/hate relationship with Facebook. I’ve never really used it for more than keeping in touch with a few friends to see what they are up to….but if FB is now limiting what I see I might as well not bother using it.

    Like

  5. fidelitytitle October 26, 2012 / 19:28

    Reblogged this on Ryan Raphael – Title Insurance and commented:
    I’ve noticed a huge difference in my presence through social media in last coup,e weeks. This explains what’s happening. Not a fan if this at all. Think it’s a pretty stupid move for Facebook. Thoughts ?

    Like

  6. LadyDiDi October 27, 2012 / 11:03

    Reblogged this on DiDi-licious and commented:
    Защо Фейсбук решава какво ни се чете и пресява информацията, която достига до нас? Аз пък искам да ме затрупва със снимки, статуси и линкове от всичките 500+ приятели, както и десетките страници и групи! Искам си приятелите обратно!

    Like

Comments are closed.