The Boat


Just occasionally I like to have play in PhotoChop, working on a photograph, experimenting with various filters until I see something I like. Originally this photograph was a bit overexposed but I like this new version.

Aground

First thing I did was correct the exposure. Next I removed a chain the was connected to the front of the boat. Then I decided to go for a soft focus on everything except the boat. Finally I really hit those reeds with a real blast of saturation.

 

16 thoughts on “The Boat

  1. semprevento December 11, 2012 / 17:07

    I like!!!! xxxxxxxxxxxx♥
    vento

    Like

  2. David December 11, 2012 / 17:18

    Well done! The final image is excellent.

    Like

    • Mike Hardisty December 12, 2012 / 17:32

      Thank you…maybe I should play more often.

      Like

  3. Jude December 11, 2012 / 20:09

    There’s something eerie about it. It could easily be the cover for a really gripping crime novel! Fabulous.

    Like

    • Mike Hardisty December 12, 2012 / 17:32

      Hello Jude. I wanted to incorporate a very soft focus to this image. In doing so I agree it has made it look a bit eerie…

      Like

      • Jude December 12, 2012 / 20:23

        But in a very positive way! It just needs an arm with an upturned hand floating gently underneath.:)

        Like

    • Mike Hardisty December 12, 2012 / 17:30

      Hi Tina…I’m not really a fan of these blogger awards, mainly because I think they are a bit like a viral email. However, I do promise to check out the link. If I like what I see I will sign up for it….Mike

      Like

      • Tina Schell December 12, 2012 / 20:28

        Understand completely Mike. Keep up the beautiful work.

        Like

  4. petspeopleandlife December 12, 2012 / 04:09

    That is one beautiful scene. You did some very smart and seems complicated editing of your photo. Looks almost like a painting.

    Like

    • Mike Hardisty December 12, 2012 / 17:25

      The editing wasn’t so complicated and really didn’t take that long mainly because I learnt to use Photoshop in a previous life…

      Like

      • petspeopleandlife December 13, 2012 / 06:01

        Lucky man that you had learned how to use Photoshop. You really know how to use it very well and not to over do the editing.

        Like

  5. Cheryl December 12, 2012 / 12:04

    Gorgeous. Going to check out PhotoChop!

    Like

  6. Amie T. Mcpherson January 8, 2013 / 23:11

    If you are outside, sunlight is one of the best light sources for textures, especially close to sunrise and sunset, when the light rays hit objects at an angle. Bright sunny days are the best, whereas cloudy days can create a soft, diffused light that will eliminate or soften up the shadows, removing the sense of depth and dimensionality from your textures. For indoor texture photography, an off-camera light is pretty much a must, unless you have another light source that can light up the texture (such as a large window). By placing your light source at an angle on the side of the texture, you can imitate sunlight. You can also experiment with gels to add a color to your texture. Most of the time, a single light source is sufficient, but there might be situations when you want to add multiple shadows, in which case more external lights might be needed.

    Like

Comments are closed.