52/2013 Week 6


You have a knack of making the North Wales coast look special Mike, coastal shots are one of my favourite subjects, I really like the tones in this shot and the texture of the wood, great image.

What a great quote I just received on Flickr for my 52/2013 Week 6 photograph.

52/2013 Week 6

On reflection, a lot of my photographs do take in the fantastic coastline we have here in North Wales. Miles of sandy beaches. I know, I know, this one has pebbles but look beyond and you can see what I mean. The beaches are natural habitats for birds who migrate to our coast, with different species arriving at varying times throughout the year. In the winter it can get cold, especially when it a northerly wind blowing. But you can walk for miles if you want to thanks to laid out coastal paths. The 870 mile (1,400km) all Wales coast path stretches from the Dee estuary in north-east Wales, west to Anglesey and Gwynedd, and down the west and south west Wales coast going east to Cardiff and Newport with views over the Bristol Channel.

On my part of the coast the North Wales path is a long distance walk of 60 miles, heading west from Prestatyn along the coast to Bangor. The great thing about the path is that it connects seaside towns and villages, which means I can drive to almost any part of the coastline to pick up the path. I can then use that as my base for the day to walk along the shoreline and see if there is anything worth photographing.

2 comments

  1. petspeopleandlife

    I can count 7 textures in this photo. The muted blues, grays and then the one unexpected log makes this an outstanding photograph. It beautiful. The angle of the wood, the color or the drift wood and of the stones on the beach are a sight to behold for “sore eyes.”

    Like