Paul’s Photography Challenge: Street


This is topic 4, from Paul’s Photography Challenge probably the one I am most uncomfortable with and I think it shows. The quality of the photographs are not great, I’ll admit that. probably because they were snatched rather than me actually taking time to frame them properly. Anyway here goes

All of the photographs were taken in Llangollen as I was walking back to my car. To get them I just held the camera and fired off a series of shots with the mirror up so as not to create noise and draw attention to myself. Of course photographing like this means a lot of straightening and cropping had to be done.

9 thoughts on “Paul’s Photography Challenge: Street

  1. Patti Kuche April 22, 2013 / 16:00

    Well done Mike! Are you pleased to have the challenge behind you or has it inspired you to do more?

    Like

    • Mike Hardisty April 22, 2013 / 16:20

      I’m still not comfortable with it Patti, but I do want to give it another try.

      Like

  2. petspeopleandlife April 27, 2013 / 00:02

    Great pics. Looks as if those people were not aware of you at all.

    Like

    • Mike Hardisty April 27, 2013 / 08:29

      Shooting from the hip and hoping for the best…

      Like

  3. Pb April 28, 2013 / 13:03

    Well done on braving it, Mike. I really like that first image of the girl with the cigarette in the rain (snow?)

    As for the framing issue – I think as the general idea is perhaps to shoot from the hip, that cropping in post-processing is what gets the best images. I know that I cropped some of mine down a long way, to isolate whatever it was that I found interesting in the frame.

    Like

    • Mike Hardisty April 28, 2013 / 15:22

      Hi Beth, that’s just what I did, walked along the street, shooting from the hip and then did some severe cropping to isolate the part of the image I wanted.

      Like

  4. Gunta April 29, 2013 / 10:20

    Very clever. Hadn’t thought of the shoot-from-the-hip technique.

    Like

Comments are closed.