Another Sunset – Clichéd I Know


Clichéd I know but sunsets are rather easy to capture. For one you can sort of see what the day has been like, you can see the cloud formations starting to take shape and then all you need to do is take the photograph.

Rhyl Sunset

Golden Hour last night was from 19:40 until about 20:30, not exactly an hour, but enough time to get some photographs in. But stupidly I had broken one of my own golden rules for photographing on the coast. Check the tide times!

Rhyl Sunset

With the tide on the turn and starting to come in I was finding it harder and harder to get a focal point into the photograph. I couldn’t get close enough to those beach markers, well I could if I wanted to get my feet wet. Surprising I had the beach to myself and there was no one walking the promenade. Great, because I don’t have to worry about someone walking in front of the camera. Not so good because if I get in trouble, not that I expected to, there’s no one to help.

Rhyl Sunset

After the sun has set I usually hang around for another 30 minutes or so. The light changes completely and I have had some of my best photographs in this 30 minute period.

For this series of photographs I used a Pentax K-30 fitted with a Sigma 10-20mm Wide Angle Lens. The camera was mounted on a tripod

 

28 comments

    • Oh! I don’t know, everyone does sunsets, including me. Very few photographers do sunrises and yet they are supposed to be so much more fantastic, light wise. Biggest problem though is you don’t know what you are going to get until that sun starts to rise. With sunsets you can sort of guess whether to not you are going to get something useable.

      Like

      • I take heaps of ‘urban’ sunsets & with the weather we’ve been having, they’re totally unpredicatable. Sunrises where I live are a noshow. Too many buildings. Occasioanlly I get to see one in the city, and that’s worth it 🙂

        Like

        • Sunrises = early rise, trek to location in dark. I ask myself is it worth it. The answer is probably yes…but although the spirit is willing, the flesh is weak. Since I retired I don’t do too early.

          Like

          • Early’s difficult for me too – & this morning, I had to start early, but it was so early the sun hadn’t risen and by the time it did it was raining 😀 I shall try for a stormy sunset tonight…

            Like

  1. Stunning photos!!
    There is something magical to me about watching the sun go down. I took some sunset photos on the Norfolk coast (yes, sunset on the East coast) last year, I too was alone, which for me made it even more special…….it was MY sunset 🙂

    Like

  2. What aspect of safety bothers you? Somethings-like special sunsets-are all the more wonderful when you can keep it all for yourself-and then share via such great pics.Fantastic work. Thank you!

    Like

    • Slipping on the rocks, being caught by the tide, it has a habit of coming in behind you on this part of the coast. A photographer was attacked and his gear stolen.

      These factors don’t put me off, they just make me aware. But there again I’m also like this if I’m walking in the hills, with my camera. Different problems, such as sudden snow falls or rapidly descending clouds….

      Like

  3. Yes, by all means contiue to be cautious. The last pic really is the best of all this series. You are right about that last 30 minutes but I don’t linger that long unless someone is with me or a few people are still watching the show of color changes.

    Like

Comments are closed.