52/2013 Week 25


52/2013 Week 25

Unlike many people when I go on holiday I don’t take too many photographs. Holiday for me is to spend time with my wife and just relax. However, I do take my camera gear with me and sometimes I’ll take the odd photograph but it’s not the top priority.

One of the reason we were in Yorkshire was to look at some areas that were important in both my wife’s and my own family history. In the village of Long Preston we came upon the pretty parish church of St Mary the Virgin which is a grade 1 listed building dating back to Norman times. The beautiful stained glass was just too good an opportunity to miss.

 

10 thoughts on “52/2013 Week 25

  1. fgassette June 22, 2013 / 16:45

    BEAUTIFUL CHURCH! Hope you are having an enjoyable time of relaxation.

    BE ENCOURAGED! BE BLESSED!

    Like

    • Mike Hardisty June 22, 2013 / 16:53

      It’s good to get out into the fresh air. Very importantly, no emails, almost no phone service, we had to drive 2 miles to get a cell signal, and a very limited television signal as well. Perfect, I finished a book, started on a second and just relaxed.

      Like

  2. Jane Lurie June 22, 2013 / 19:01

    The detail, clarity and colors in this are stunning, Mike. Great job.

    Like

    • Mike Hardisty June 22, 2013 / 19:33

      It’s the new lens Jane. I’m getting amazing results with it.

      Like

      • Jane Lurie June 22, 2013 / 19:38

        You certainly are… going wide and it is good! 🙂

        Like

  3. petspeopleandlife June 23, 2013 / 00:32

    Great Britian is a gold mine of beauty. The churces and cathedrals that you have been posting for us to see are incredible. It has to be uplifting when you find these beauties to photograph. I made this one and the grapes a favorite. But I need to look for all the other churches and cathedrals that I am pretty sure you have on flickr as well.

    Like

    • Mike Hardisty June 23, 2013 / 14:30

      We are blessed in having a great selection of historical buildings.

      Like

  4. Patti Kuche June 25, 2013 / 00:21

    The lighting is spectacular! So envious of your holiday style . . .

    Like

Comments are closed.