52/2013 Week 29


I’ve been doing a bit of re-branding to my blog this week. It’s now known as “Say It With A Camera” with the tag-line “Mike Hardisty Photography”. In effect I have swapped the tag-line and blog name around. You will also notice that my photographs are starting to appear with a logo on them. It’s a step that I have taken before and then decided to stop. But these days my photographs are posted on social media sites, either by me or by others sharing them.

It will not deter anyone who wants to “steal” a photograph, it was never intended to do so. Nowadays it’s all too easy to remove a watermark from a photograph. This is more about establishing my brand-name and getting credit for my work.

To this weeks photograph. I had to make a trip to Glasgow, my home-town this week. With a bit of time to spare before checking into the hotel, and to escape the heat-wave that we are currently experiencing, I decided to visit the Art Galleries.

More correctly known as “The Kelvingrove Art Gallery and Museum” it’s a building I’m very familiar with from my younger days, even although many of the displays have changed.

When I was younger it was more of a Natural History and Science Museum and less of an Art Gallery. Nowadays it’s a modern mix of everything.

Back then it was where us young adolescent and spotty faced lads used to go “winching”. We weren’t there to appreciate art or the model ships. No, we went there to meet girls. Sunday afternoons. lots of youngsters would migrate to the art galleries. The city fathers probably thought we were furthering our education, we were, but not how they thought.

Anyway I digress slightly. “Floating Heads” was designed by Sophie Cave and consists of 50 heads displaying different emotions, many of which we see in our daily life.

14 thoughts on “52/2013 Week 29

  1. Jane Lurie July 18, 2013 / 18:58

    Love this architectural image, Mike. Agree, it’s smart to watermark at least as a deterrent. Love your new brand!

    Like

    • Mike Hardisty July 18, 2013 / 19:53

      Thanks Jane, next step is to try and change the blog header to reflect the new brand.

      Like

      • Jane Lurie July 18, 2013 / 20:20

        Yes, more techie fun. Just did mine- nice to change things up.

        Like

  2. petspeopleandlife July 19, 2013 / 04:04

    Gee I almost deleted this post thinking that I don’t remember following “say it with a camera.” Anyway I am glad to know this is you. I like the look of the blog. Really jazzed up now. Great picture and I enjoyed reading about the days of your youth. Also, l like the brand name for your photography.

    Like

    • Mike Hardisty July 19, 2013 / 17:30

      I’ve been coming around to this idea for a while Yvonne. Just needed the prompt to implement it.

      Like

  3. dtmateojr July 19, 2013 / 07:22

    Nice shot. And I do agree with watermarks as long as they are not intrusive. For me it is saying “I’m proud of my work and I’m putting my name on it.”

    Like

    • Mike Hardisty July 19, 2013 / 17:41

      That’s what I’m trying to say…and thanks for commenting about the photograph

      Like

  4. Andrew July 19, 2013 / 07:34

    I like the changes and branding. Maybe I should start trying to protect my work. The picture is excellent and good memories shared, too.

    Like

    • Mike Hardisty July 19, 2013 / 17:44

      It’s more about branding than protection Andrew, but the watermark will help to put off the casual Pinterest, Facebook etc. user who decides to use one of my photographs….and if it doesn’t at least people will know who the photograph belongs to.

      Like

  5. rabirius July 20, 2013 / 18:04

    Really, an excellent picture.

    Like

  6. Cris July 22, 2013 / 21:41

    It looks like you’d need a pair of binoculars to get the full effect of this exhibit. Also, I really like your new layout and your logo. Looks great.

    Like

    • Mike Hardisty July 23, 2013 / 09:21

      I did manage to get closer but unwanted to show the full exhibit.

      Like

      • Cris July 23, 2013 / 11:56

        All you can do is all you can do. Nice job. Love your new look. Very professional.

        Like

Comments are closed.