Loch Lomond – A Quick Visit


Loch Lomond is a freshwater loch 39 kilometres (24 mi) long and between 1.21 kilometres (0.75 mi) and 8 kilometres (5.0 mi) wide. It has an average depth of about 37 metres (121 ft), and a maximum depth of about 190 metres (620 ft).

Crystal Clear Water

Of all the lochs and lakes in Great Britain, it is the largest by surface area, and the second largest (after Loch Ness) by water volume. Within the United Kingdom, it is surpassed only by Lough Neagh and Lower Lough Erne in Northern Ireland.

I only had a very short time at Loch Lomond but managed to capture a few photographs beside the loch and in the nearby village of Luss.

Loch Lomond is one of Scotland‘s premier boating and water sports venues and the scenery draws people from all over Scotland and beyond.

Diving

The loch is open to every kind of watercraft including kayaks, canoes, wind-surfers, jet skis, speedboats and cruisers and they are all very well represented.

Lomond Water Bus

A great way of getting to see various locations around Loch Lomond is to use the Water Bus.

Big Skies

The Water Bus links west, east and south shore locations like Luss & Balmaha, Balloch & Balmaha and Tarbet with Inversnaid & Rowardennan.

As I only had a short time on the Loch I only went as far north as the village of Luss. Nowadays Luss is a conservation village, and many of the cottages have been described as picturesque.

Luss Village

Some while back Luss became famous as a result of being the main outdoor location for the Scottish Television drama series Take the High Road.  Although the programme is no longer made, some in Luss remain proud of the connection: its fictional name, ‘Glendarroch,’ is used for some buildings.

Luss Parish Church is a Church of Scotland church in Luss, Argyll and Bute dedicated to Saint Kessog.

Luss Parish Church

The present church building was constructed in 1875, and subject to major restoration works in 2001. The church site has had 1500 years of continuous Christian presence, being originally founded by Saint Kessog, and has 15 listed ancient monuments in its graveyard.

The church has in recent times embraced the internet, broadcasting its services online, and inviting, in exception to usual Church practice, outsiders to take advantage of the picturesque location on the banks of Loch Lomond for weddings, of which 153 were held in 2009.

It’s a shame they don’t welcome photographers. At least, not those with tripods and DSLR cameras. I was told in no uncertain terms that I wouldn’t be allowed to “set-up” by the photography police who were manning the door to the church.

No visit to Loch Lomond would be complete without a photograph of Ben Lomond which is 974 metres (3,196 ft) in height.

Ben Lomond

Easily accessible from Glasgow and elsewhere in central Scotland, together with the relative ease of ascent from Rowardennan, makes it one of the most popular for walkers. Hey! When I was a kid in my teens I went up it several times.

Ben Lomond’s popularity in Scotland has resulted in several namesakes in the former British colonies of Australia, New Zealand, Trinidad and the United States. The mountain is mentioned directly in the popular folk song The Bonnie Banks o’ Loch Lomond.

I wish I had more time to spend at Loch Lomond, visiting Luss and seeing the Ben brings back memories from my childhood. But unfortunately, this really was a quick visit. I arrived in Glasgow at 3 pm. Took the photographs between 4 & 6 pm and was back in North Wales, by 10 am the following morning.

 

27 comments

  1. fantastic photos! It is a long time ago I was there, and as we were there because of a broken down car – it was ina garage for 3 days – we were stuck in a tent on teh banks. We walked around but my best memory ois a storm on the lake. Thaks so much for posting 🙂

    Like

  2. Deep sigh. The photography police are everywhere. I’ve no objection to buying a permit but an outright ban is unreasonable. If you ask why, I bet the answer is ‘because’.

    Like

  3. I find the old church so beautiful. There really is no adequate word for restricrting photographers from taking photos of the old church. That is beyond reason since what in the world has a tripod and a DSLR camera got to do with harming the church in any conceivable manner. None the less your shot of the church is beautiful.

    Like

  4. Big respect Mike. Came across you through the suggested people/similar to me and I have to say I’m glad i stopped by. I’m a newbie on WordPress. Some epic shots here. Have a great day!

    Like

      • No worries Mike. It was a very enjoyable visit. Some fantastic scenes. I’m in the process of setting up my page & sorting pictures to post. Im new to WP & using its app on my phone, so I apologise for the delay. Why not take a pic in another week! Might be something up then.

        Have a good day 🙂

        Gav

        Like

Comments are closed.