Love ‘em or Hate ‘em…


On Top Of The Hill

I have a love/hate relationship with wind turbines. From a photography point of view I quite like them as they sometime serve to break up what could be a very monotonous landscape. But on the other hand I have seen them in places were the scenery is absolutely beautiful, only to be ruined by a great big white monstrosity.

I’m not entirely convinced that the benefits from wind turbines are that great, I suppose only time will tell. I always thought they would be quite quiet. Having stood underneath one yesterday, one thing I can tell you, they are really noisy.

What about you? Do you love them, or is your vote for a hate?

 

23 thoughts on “Love ‘em or Hate ‘em…

  1. captureyouphotography August 6, 2013 / 01:40

    Nice.

    Like

  2. petspeopleandlife August 6, 2013 / 02:02

    Actaully the turbines, for me, ruined the otherwise beautiful bucolic scene. I don’t like them BUT If, and that is a BIG IF, the turbines are reducing polution well then the cotton picking things have a place. I don’t know where that place is located. 🙂

    There are thousands of them all over parts of west Texas where the wind is relentless. I have not been up close to one but I had read that the noise is loud. They might also be having a negative impact on migrating birds that are flying into the blades.

    Everything that we are now doing for the environment has a negative and a positve outcome. The world governments simply waited too long to address the polution issue.

    ~yvonne

    Like

    • Mike Hardisty August 6, 2013 / 18:12

      We are getting one of the biggest in Europe wind farms just off our coast. They are still adding to it and will continue to do so for some time yet. What gets me is i lookout to sea and most days the turbines aren’t turning. I’m not entirely convinced that there is a benefit but as I said earlier only time will tell

      Like

  3. Patti Kuche August 6, 2013 / 02:15

    Mike, I have heard awful numbers where wind farms are concerned – the farmer, in whose field it goes, is paid a reported £40,000 annually, money which comes from the increase to electricity bills regardless of usage but the wind turbines are shut down when winds get up to 35 mph because of possible blade damage, not to mention the damage to wildlife and the environment. Someone out there a hedgefund or three perhaps are making piles of money because I haven’t heard of too much in the way of cost benefit analysis to the consumer. But then who knows, maybe they will be the Stonehenge to come! Your photo does give them a certain style and grace!

    Like

    • Mike Hardisty August 6, 2013 / 18:14

      They’re going to keep growing, Patti. Someone is making money and you can bet its not the consumer, even though we are paying a green tax in our energy bills.

      Like

  4. mtlawleyshire August 6, 2013 / 02:31

    I’ve seen other photos of them in stunningly wild & beautiful landscapes & somehow, they add something. They even add to the sense of remoteness. Yes, there are worries about birds, but more birds are killed by cars, electricity wires and high rise buildings – along with bats – and everything else we are doing to the environment. But I think they are less damaging than some of the tidal power plants proposed and have less impact on the environment. It is a rare part of Brtain that doesn’t display human impact. We have them here too with all the same complaints. But they cause far less overall impact than telephone/mobile/electricity towers that march across landscapes.

    Like

    • Mike Hardisty August 6, 2013 / 18:17

      There’s been a lot of discussion about them. Will they bring benefits, who knows? Will I see it…I doubt it.

      Like

  5. cornwallwindwatch August 6, 2013 / 11:18

    We don’t personally dislike the look of them, I agree from a photography point of view they can add interest to a still. But from a restful point of view, quietly enjoying a tranquil space they become very distracting and unsettling after some time. We now permanently have blinds down in half of the house to block out the distraction. Cornwall has visitors from all round the globe to enjoy beautiful countryside and unwind from the hustle of city life. We now are hosting ~10% of the UK turbine fleet on an area of less than 2%. That isn’t the end, every day more and more applications flood in as farmers wish to cash in, and why shouldn’t they. £550K tax free pa is up for grabs for one 77m turbine (More recently the switch is for solar parks on food land, which are widely considered unsightly combined with a wind landscape). Unlike many parts of the world Cornwall/UK is small and very inhabited. We simply don’t have areas of uninhabited landscape like USA or deserts to utilise. As such there is no set-back distance and we are seeing 77m turbines being planned as close as 220m from peoples rural homes. This is not safe, and has turned public opinion. There are very few views in some parts now that do not include turbines. Coupled with the emerging truth of how they are funded (19% tax on all electricity bills), how they are threatening uk industry, the diesel back-up required, likely increased CO2, adverse tourist impact and financially seriously crippling poorer families, many have now simply had enough. Enough is enough. To us they have gone from being graceful landscape addition to a symbol of capitalist greed and what happens when a green agenda overrides sensible engineered solutions. Our sunset over the Atlantic west cost will soon be lost forever once the latest array goes in. “Artists Against Wind Farms” know where they stand and so do we. CWW

    Like

    • Mike Hardisty August 6, 2013 / 18:21

      Whilst I may not entirely agree with everything you say I have never yet censored a comment on my blog, that is unless it contains vile language.

      Like

  6. cd1972 August 6, 2013 / 13:07

    I’m not sure about. We have some windparks here and I think they don’t ruin the scenery. Great photo!

    Like

    • Mike Hardisty August 6, 2013 / 18:22

      I have been out and had to change my POV because of wind turbines but hey they here to stay so I suppose we will just have to learn to live with them

      Like

  7. vanecktharien August 7, 2013 / 17:45

    The worst is the wind turbine farm in the see between Denmark and Sweden! I guess this is the price that we are paying for living in an energy hungry world

    Like

  8. Jo Bryant August 7, 2013 / 21:22

    It is a bit like solar power…it really isn’t as green as everyone spouts it to be

    Like

    • Mike Hardisty August 8, 2013 / 16:47

      Never! Solar power is the great boon of our time…just like these wind farms will be. Or so they keep telling us.

      Like

      • Jo Bryant August 9, 2013 / 02:22

        Hmmmm…did you know that it takes MORE energy to make one solar panel than it will ever produce in its lifetime ?? Plus disposal of the batteries to store the power is also a bit of a problem.

        Like

        • Mike Hardisty August 9, 2013 / 09:50

          No…but it doesn’t surprise me. Despite what is said, nothing is for free.

          Like

  9. Anne Camille August 12, 2013 / 00:00

    Like other commenters, I have mixed feelings on the wind turbines. I don’t know enough of the facts to argue for either side, but I do know that there are lots of concerns and I wonder whether we really understand the full impact of these machines. OTOH, from an art & aesthetic standpoint, I think that they are beautiful in their own peculiar way. I don’t think that they improve any landscape — and certainly can distract from one — but I think there is something graceful about how they spin. There is an enormous windfarm a few hours north of me, alongside the main interstate to Chicago. As a passenger, I like watching them for miles and miles (about 30 – 45 minutes of travel time). As a driver, I find them distracting, especially those that seem to be right in front of you until you get to the bend of the road. The first time I saw the enormous wind farm, I was driving home from Chicago at night. It was quite foggy. The disembodied red lights on the tips of the rotating blades, cutting periodically through the fog, made quite a show along the horizon, like something from a sci-fi movie.

    Like

    • Mike Hardisty August 13, 2013 / 18:42

      We have them out to sea and the farm is growing daily. They’re also on the high moors a good few miles from us. Sometimes at night, with the wind in the right direction I can hear the blades cavitating with a low sort of rumbling noise.

      Like

      • Anne Camille August 13, 2013 / 19:31

        I don’t think that I’d like hearing them. Since I’ve never been up close to them, I haven’t heard the noise they generate. Even those close to the interstate can’t be heard because it is a heavily truck-trafficked stretch of road.

        Like

Comments are closed.