Weekly Photo Challenge: One Shot, Two Ways


Normally if I’m shooting a landscape photograph I’ll orient the camera, err, in landscape mode. Sort of makes sense…..

Weekly Photo Challenge: One Shot, Two Ways

—or does it?

Sometimes, what I’m really after is to show the clouds and now it makes sense to shoot in portrait mode

Weekly Photo Challenge: One Shot, Two Ways

However, the big problem is that I lose some of the interest from the side of the photograph. In this instance I’ve compensated by making the foreground interest considerably larger, but in all honesty I prefer the landscape version.

What about you, landscape or portrait?

 

24 thoughts on “Weekly Photo Challenge: One Shot, Two Ways

  1. babso2you August 10, 2013 / 21:58

    I like the composition of both! Landscape more so! Thanks for the pingback!

    Like

    • Mike Hardisty August 10, 2013 / 22:51

      You’re welcome…thanks for commenting and the landscape one is my favourite.

      Like

    • Mike Hardisty August 11, 2013 / 11:31

      Thank you for commenting. Landscape is the better, I think.

      Like

  2. vastlycurious.com August 10, 2013 / 22:26

    Simply beautiful Photographs!

    Like

      • vastlycurious.com August 11, 2013 / 04:59

        I DID !

        Like

  3. petspeopleandlife August 11, 2013 / 02:30

    Landscape mode is the bes one. There is too much sky in portrait mode but it is still an excellent photo as well. This is a really pretty country and you are doing justice with your superb photography.

    Like

    • Mike Hardisty August 11, 2013 / 10:18

      Hy Yvonne, I’ve been photographing far too many churches recently, it’s time to get back out and photograph the beautiful landscape that’s all around me.

      Like

  4. Forestwoodfolkart August 11, 2013 / 08:20

    If it is a landscape, I shot in landscape, unless the vertical orientation helps to accentuate something like a narrow valley

    Like

    • Mike Hardisty August 11, 2013 / 10:03

      I was always told “long and tall” like a lighthouse, then it’s portrait, everything else is landscape…but rules are there to be broken

      Like

  5. anetteengen August 13, 2013 / 10:03

    Between these two, the landscape! Wow, you captured something magical 🙂

    Like

  6. Tina Schell August 13, 2013 / 15:23

    Beautiful Mike. In this case I’m all for the landscape version but more often I find I’m a vertical kind of gal!!!

    Like

    • Mike Hardisty August 13, 2013 / 23:20

      Sometimes I’ll use portrait for long and tall or maybe a fence line

      Like

  7. Terri at Time To Be Inspired August 13, 2013 / 16:53

    I like both of your photos and I think there are often reasons to shoot landscapes in portrait mode. For one thing, how boring is it to always have one view? I like mixing up the format. Each photo may not be a masterpiece, but going through my photos is much more interesting with directional change.

    Like

    • Mike Hardisty August 13, 2013 / 23:24

      I couldn’t agree more. Iam sort of hidebound mostly shooting landscapes in that mode. But occasionally I mix it up..

      Like

  8. Heyjude September 3, 2013 / 19:27

    You have the Daily Post Digest to thank for me finding your post – had to have a look at that landscape, and landscape wins in this instance I think. But it is always fun to try something different, and great when it works!

    Like

Comments are closed.