52/2013 Week 33


52/2013 Week 33

This would probably have been suitable for this weeks Weekly Photo Challenge but I already earmarked it for 52/2013.

I was down on the beach photographing the sunset when this pair walked right across the front of the camera, despite me asking them to wait a few seconds whilst I finished the long exposure.

Anyway, they climbed onto the slippery rocks and proceeded to start fishing. I’ll qualify that. The father started fishing, the kid looked like he didn’t want to be there. Look at the way he’s standing.

Now although I don’t claim exclusive rights to the shoreline I do find it annoying when someone walks right in front of the camera, especially when you ask them to wait just for a moment.

Have you ever had a photograph ruined by someone walking into the frame? Or, maybe they’ve walked in and you’ve used it to your advantage?

 

12 thoughts on “52/2013 Week 33

  1. stephenransome August 17, 2013 / 14:44

    Hi Mike. Another fine shot. Just for you to take note. All of the text does not fin in the box. some is missing on the RH-side. Is it just me? Cheers Mike.

    Like

    • Mike Hardisty August 17, 2013 / 17:38

      Haven’t noticed anything here Steve…I’ve tested it on my PC and iPad.

      Like

  2. stephenransome August 17, 2013 / 14:46

    Hi again Mike. Having saved that comment, the text then fitted in!!!!! I’ll have to look into that myself.

    Like

  3. James McDonallJames August 17, 2013 / 15:54

    This kind of thing happens all the time, and yes, it is most annoying. Frequently when I’m at a classic car show and shine people will just wander in – after all I couldn’t possibly doing anything but a family snap, right? Occasionally I use a reflection as part of the finished product, but unless the photo is called “big assed spectator” I usually don’t use anything substantive.

    Like

  4. petspeopleandlife August 17, 2013 / 17:26

    People think they have the right to disregard other people’s rights and feelings. I feel sorry for the son who will emulate his fathers’s behavior someday, must likely. This is an interesting study of human behavior as it is evident to see the son’s body language. That is the first thing that I noticed about this photo but then I “study” body language and expression. It is something that I noticed as a child and It has always intrigued me. It will be interesting to see how many commenters make note of the the things going on in the picture. Anyone with the attidude of the adult in this photo has a sense of self entitlement.

    Like

    • Mike Hardisty August 17, 2013 / 17:50

      That about sums it up, Yvonne. Right from the start I knew it was going to be a problem, just by the way he walked in front of me. I had to adjust position slightly to take them out of the frame, not a problem in itself…but I did use them to my advantage.

      Like

  5. mtlawleyshire August 17, 2013 / 19:36

    very annoying! I find people usually stop from walking in front of me, even when the camera is obviously pointed upwards. So polite! Sorry you didn’t have that. Great photo though

    Like

    • Mike Hardisty August 18, 2013 / 08:19

      Most people will stop. When I was photographing all the churches people would come in. Usually I could let them ave a good look around and then take my photographs. In this instance the long exposure (20 sec) was almost finished but it was a case of “I’m going out on those rocks and I’m not waiting for you…”

      Like

  6. Heyjude September 3, 2013 / 19:30

    to be honest I think they make the sunset picture more interesting – I mean just look at that kid’s hairstyle? Brilliant!

    Like

Comments are closed.