Weekly Photo Challenge: Inside


Nowadays, cameras are everywhere and in March 2013 The Verge reported that Flickr had a total of 87 million registered members and more than 3.5 million new images uploaded daily.

I don’t take pictures for the sake of photographing. I take photographs to express what’s going on inside of me. Photography turned out to be the most handy tool.

Rumio Sato

I wonder how many of those photographs uploaded to Flickr “express what’s going on inside of me”?

Tewkesbury Abbey

I was lucky to visit Tewkesbury Abbey again last week. The internal lighting highlights the colour of the stone and I spent hours last week wandering around the abbey looking for unusual scenes.

The colour of the flowers against the more sedate hues of the abbey stone attracted me straight away.

In 1087, William the Conqueror gave the manor of Tewkesbury to his cousin, Robert Fitzhamon, who, with Giraldus, Abbot of Cranbourne, founded the present abbey in 1092. Building of the present Abbey church did not start until 1102, employing Caen stone imported from Normandy and floated up the Severn.

Virgin and Child

Wandering around the abbey I found this little chapel with an Alec Miller sculpture of the “Virgin and Child”. Alec Miller (1879-1961) trained as a wood-carver in Glasgow, my home town. Later he became a carver, sculptor, craftsman and artist. In 1931 he emigrated to California, where he had a successful career.
 Tewkesbury Abbey Ceiling

If you ever visit the abbey don’t forget to look up and you will see the beautiful vaulted roof, with its gilded Suns of York, which was commissioned by King Edward IV after the Battle of Tewkesbury in 1471.

The battle was one of the decisive battles of the Wars of the Roses and after the battle some of the defeated Lancastrians sought sanctuary in the abbey. The victorious Yorkists, led by King Edward IV, forced their way into the abbey; the resulting bloodshed caused the building to be closed for a month until it could be purified and re-consecrated.

Abbey View

By now it was getting near time for the abbey to close for the night, apart from a few staff I had the abbey to myself and I was able to get this photograph looking down from the altar to the nave. As I was lining up the camera for the photograph I started to think about all the people who had walked on the stone floor of the abbey in it’s 921 year history. Can you imagine the number of people, who were they and had anything significant happened in their lives? Of course at the time I did not know about the massacre in the abbey after the battle.

 

30 comments

    • Mike Hardisty

      Hello Francine. The abbey is very photogenic and somehow the church authorities have managed to get the internal lighting just right to show off the best features of the abbey. Thank you for taking the time to visit and comment.

      Like

  1. Andrew

    Excellent, Mike. If only more people took photos to express what is within them then I suspect the volume on Flickr would fall somewhat!

    Like

    • Mike Hardisty

      But I suppose Flickr or yahoo would not want it that way, Andrew. It just struck me the other day that everyone takes photographs with their phones and no one bats an eyelid.

      For example, when I was in Tewkesbury abbey I had to buy a photographers permit because I was using a DSLR, yet anyone using a phone could snap away to their hearts content without any problem at all.

      Like

  2. Janet Sunderland

    Thanks so much for showing me the Abbey. My name, of course, is English, Northern England to be precise, and I’ve always wanted to spend time wandering the moors and uplands. I’ve visited London and it’s wonderful and all, but I so want to spend a month or two in the country. And now, looking at these photos, I feel a longing akin to homesickness! Now it seems I’ll need to start out in a north westerly direction before heading north east. Ah. My kingdom for a car!

    Like