52/2013 Week 44


Waterfall

We’re starting to batten down the hatches in preparation for a storm which may or may not hit my little part of North Wales. It’s coming up from the south and we’ll probably know in the early hours of the morning whether or not it’s passed us by. Now it’s nothing like the hurricanes that batter other parts of the world. This one is only supposed to have about 90mph winds which are strong enough to do damage. Could make for some good photographs tomorrow down on the shoreline.

Anyway to this weeks 52 challenge. I’ve got visitors here at the moment so I thought I’d take them into Snowdonia. Bad Mistake! Heavy driving rain, strong winds and difficult road conditions. We stopped off at Betwys-y-Coed and the small waterfall in the centre of the town was in full flow.

This is the highest I’ve seen it, normally you can see some of the rocks below. So with the wind and rain predicted for tonight/tomorrow the waterfall may be even stronger as the water runs off the surrounding hills.

9 comments

  1. petspeopleandlife

    Gorgeous photo with the conifer tree in the center. My blogging friend in Wales sent me an email earlier this evening that 80-90 MPH winds were expected. She does not live as near to the coast as you but she still fears damage. Hurricane season in the Gulf of Mexico here in Texas in the summer generally helps us get much needed rain and that was the case back a month or so ago. I am inland by about 200 miles or so. Thank God we don’t have to worry about that kind of wind but we do worry a lot about tornadoes.

    You and your family be safe for sure. Good karma is being sent your way. 🙂

    Like

      • petspeopleandlife

        Thanks for the reply, Mike. I’m glad that all is well over your way. I’m so glad the storm passed over. I got an email from my bogging pal in Wales this am and she wrote to let me know all is ok. I’m very glad the storm weakened or passed over- what ever the case.

        Like