Weekly Photo Challenge: Eerie


Occasionally I get in the mood to dabble with Photoshop and this weeks challenge seemed like a good time to have a go. Of course it could also be that with all the high winds and heavy rain we’ve been having I haven’t set foot outside the door with the camera. However……

The Red Monk

It’s a bit dark this one but in keeping with eerie I wanted to make it that way. I started off with a photograph of Gloucester Cathedral Cloisters, trust me it is there in the background, not obvious, but it’s there.  Often when I start something like this I will try different things, sometimes just letting my imagination run wild. Originally there was a map behind the monk and then I changed it for a clock. The monk replaced a wood nymph…..you get the idea, I hope.

Now I don’t have a ready stock of model photographs on tap so I am indebted to “Marcus J Ranum” for making his models freely available for use. I’d also like to thank “dead-brushes” for the use of the clock brushes for Photoshop. Both can be found on Deviant Art.

 

16 thoughts on “Weekly Photo Challenge: Eerie

  1. petspeopleandlife November 3, 2013 / 19:58

    Quite impressive and sort of surreal. Eerie perhaps is the better word. Not sure. 🙂

    Like

    • Mike Hardisty November 3, 2013 / 23:20

      Maybe a little too dark, Yvonne. Winter is when I experiment with photoshop….all those dark nights.

      >

      Like

  2. Tina Schell November 4, 2013 / 02:40

    Hmmm, posted a comment earlier Mike, not sure what happened. Love what you did to make this one work! Well done.

    Like

    • Mike Hardisty November 4, 2013 / 09:08

      I had a similar problem months ago with WP. I was replying to comments, my mail server was sending them but WP wasn’t acting on them.

      >

      Like

  3. Angie November 4, 2013 / 02:46

    Cool picture! I wish I am that good with Photoshop. 🙂

    Like

    • Mike Hardisty November 4, 2013 / 09:06

      Thank you for taking the time to comment. I just experiment with photoshop and see what comes out…

      >

      Like

      • Angie November 4, 2013 / 13:35

        My pleasure, Mike! 🙂

        Like

  4. Khana November 4, 2013 / 08:57

    Fabulous pic, I really love it 🙂

    Like

  5. vastlycurious.com November 7, 2013 / 03:01

    REALLY nice photoshop and hologram image. I wish I had the technology, just me and my Iphone so far. Love your work.

    Like

      • vastlycurious.com November 8, 2013 / 00:35

        You are welcome Mike as ever !

        Like

Comments are closed.