Llyn-y-Dywarchen


Lakeside Tree

Llyn-y-Dywarchen is a privately owned lake which lies alongside the B4418. On the day I visited there was a cold wind blowing with sunlight breaking through the clouds now and again.

My plan was to walk around the lake, mainly to get closer to this tree and some old abandoned buildings which were on the opposite side of the lake from the roadside car park.

You know what they say about the best laid plans of mice and men, or as Robbie Burns put it;

The best-laid schemes o’ mice an’ men, gang aft agley,

I couldn’t get any further round than this. The whole area was flooded with runoff water from the rock strewn hill to my left, forcing me to abandon my plans to go further.

Still it gives me an excuse to go back once the area is drier. Maybe early spring…

Enhanced by Zemanta

10 thoughts on “Llyn-y-Dywarchen

    • Mike Hardisty March 6, 2014 / 15:34

      Thank you Terri. Snowdonia is one of my favourite places to shoot. There’s so much of interest and you don’t even have to go off-road much

      Like

  1. petspeopleandlife March 5, 2014 / 21:08

    No matter the situation you can “work” a scene and come up with something that looks like it came out of “eden.” That is what great photographers are able to do- make something eye catching literally from nothing. This is beautiful. The tree and the dried grasses with the undulating line of rocks “make” the photo.

    ~yvonne

    Like

    • Mike Hardisty March 6, 2014 / 15:32

      Aw shucks Yvonne, you’re tweaking my ego again. Must admit though I knew this was going to be a good one, especially when the sun broke through the clouds.

      Like

  2. Patti Kuche March 6, 2014 / 00:44

    But what a treat to see the sun breaking through such a breathtaking scene!

    Like

    • Mike Hardisty March 6, 2014 / 12:37

      I was really lucky there, Patti. It came through after I had taken one set of photographs. I was standing talking to the other photographer who was with me when the sun broke through. Too good an opportunity to miss.

      >

      Like

  3. Andrew March 6, 2014 / 12:57

    Quite beautiful, Mike. It has a feel of cold wilderness about it. Please go again!

    Like

    • Mike Hardisty March 6, 2014 / 15:37

      It certainly was cold Andrew. Although it looks in the middle of nowhere the road runs along the edge of it and there’s even a parking spot. There’s also a village about half a mile away, but that’s the beauty of Snowdonia. You think you are miles from anywhere but you’re not….

      Like

Comments are closed.