Weekly Photo Challenge: Descent


How many times have I said “no photograph is worth taking chances for”? Yet today I broke my golden rule and paid the price for it. This weeks challenge is to show our interpretation of descent and I can do that in more ways than one.

Llanberis Pass

The Llanberis Pass descends from Pen-y-Pass to Llanberis and flowing down through the pass for about 6km is the Afon Nant Peris which has it’s source at Pen-y-Pass (359m) and finally ends at Llyn Peris (105m). And this is where I broke my golden rule. Stupidly I decided to step onto some rocks to get a better view down the river before taking another photograph. I slipped, straight down, flat on my face, my camera came up to hit my sunglasses, forcing them into my eye area. Fortunately my camera seems fine, but I have a bruise the size of an egg and the best shade of eye-shadow a man could ever want.

Bruise

Not pretty at all. I’m sore all over and all because I was stupid enough to break my own golden rule. So there you have it……descent in more ways than one.

17 thoughts on “Weekly Photo Challenge: Descent

  1. Ruth November 5, 2014 / 23:12

    Not sure to hit the like button but am wishing you well.
    The photo is lovely.
    Sorry you got such a bump and bruise but amazed camera okay. Take care

    Like

    • Mike Hardisty November 17, 2014 / 17:51

      I was lucky Ruth. Could have been worse.

      Like

  2. petspeopleandlife November 6, 2014 / 01:24

    Horror of all horrors. i;m glad you came out of your “descent” with only a bad bruise. You might well have gotten some broken limbs. But the photo is a real beauty. I’m sure it was not worth it to you but it is an excellent shot of the landscape.

    Like

    • Mike Hardisty November 17, 2014 / 17:50

      Still recovering Yvonne. My face is a lot better, bruising just about gone. Leg is taking longer for somevreason

      Like

  3. Andrew November 6, 2014 / 09:16

    Ouch. I hurt my pride and happily little else once. I tried to photograph a dipper and lost my footing mid stream. I went in, shallow but cold. Luckily I had a change of clothes in the car. Your bruise looks nasty. I hope it is nothing worse.

    Like

    • Mike Hardisty November 6, 2014 / 17:20

      Got the all clear this morning from A&E Andrew. Soft tissue bruising around the eye caused by my glasses impacting the eye area and X-Ray confirmed there are no broken or chipped bones in my leg

      Like

  4. sued51 November 6, 2014 / 10:27

    Ouch! But after you have recovered you will be glad you have the photo.🙂

    Like

  5. maamej November 6, 2014 / 10:50

    It’s a gorgeous pic, I hope you recover quickly. Looks very painful.

    Like

  6. Inside the Mind of Isadora November 6, 2014 / 13:44

    A terrible wat to remember your own rule. Hope you recover quickly and with little damage to your eye. 😞

    Like

    • Mike Hardisty November 6, 2014 / 17:23

      I think I have been a lucky boy. No real damage done except a battered ego

      Liked by 1 person

  7. blastedgoat November 6, 2014 / 14:26

    Ouch! That is some serious dedication and advice I should definitely heed more often!

    Like

    • Mike Hardisty November 6, 2014 / 17:21

      For years I have followed my own advice. I really don’t know what made me do different yesterday

      Like

Comments are closed.