Weekly Photo Challenge: Serenity


I took this photograph a long time ago, October 1st 2006. I remember it well, sitting on a beach in Florida watching the sun go down. The sky was amazing as Florida sunsets can be and that’s why I have used it as the background for the lonely and deserted Uphill beach in the UK. Yes! It’s a composite image made from two separate photographs.

Weekly Photo Challenge - Serenity

In the original image the sun was setting but the sky never really coloured up with those lovely red, oranges, yellows and purples that can really make a great sunset photograph. One good thing, I had metered the scene and set the camera to give me a silhouette against the setting sun, which never really happened.

During the winter this particular beach is very peaceful and quiet when we lived in North Somerset it was one of our favourite dog walks and that’s why I have chosen it for the Weekly Photo Challenge.

Composite portraits are absolute quackery! What next, composite landscapes? – Anonymous – The Photographic News, London 1888

The Free Dictionary describes a Composite Photograph as a photograph formed by superimposing two or more separate photographs. It’s nothing new as you can see from the enclosed quote which appeared in the Photographic News almost one hundred and thirty years ago. Indeed search for Composite Photographs and I’m sure you’ll search engine will return loads of hits, especially for Composite Tutorials.

But my question is: Photograph or Image? I have my own particular view on this and I’d like hear yours.

9 comments

  1. I was going to say that I love that you caught the silhouettes of the man and dog to add interest but I guess now I should say that it’s a beautiful creation, no matter how obtained or made.

    janet

    Like

    • Well the silhouettes did come from the camera settings, Janet. I added the sunset to teh top of the photograph and then colour matched the lower half to the upper. But the silhouettes were intentional

      Like

Comments are closed.