Weekly Photo Challenge: Fresh


Street photography is something new for me. It’s not in me to go photographing people, I prefer landscapes instead, less confrontational. After all people nowadays are much more aware of photographers, especially when you have a camera in your hand pointing straight at them. And that to me is the crux of things, I don’t fancy a punch in the nose. In an article on thephoblographer.com Julius Motal discusses “How to Avoid “Getting Punched in the Nose” in Street Photography”. Sound advice.

Wandering around Liverpool, another first for me, I’ve never visited Liverpool before. I was busy “snapping” everything I thought would make a good street photograph. How wrong I was.

Street Reflections

The best photographs I took where all of people going about their lives as normal, unaware that I was there.

Couple

I’m not sure what’s going on here. They’re not looking at each other. Maybe they’ve had an argument? Not like my next photograph. One man and his dog. If you stop to pose, you’re fair game.

Man and Dog

My next photograph caught the Street Photographer looking at his camera. He was doing similar to me. Just lurking, looking for potential targets, err, photo opportunities. I’ve no doubt he’s got me…..

Street Photographer

Finally for this weeks challenge, this was definitely a case of I’ve spotted you so fire away. I’m happy to pose and I can only say thank you.

Photograph Me

Now you might be thinking what has this got to do with Fresh. Simple really. It was my first time in Liverpool, a really great city, and the first time I had ever really gone out consciously to capture photographs of people going about their daily lives. All fresh to me.

8 comments

  1. Loads of personality with the gentleman. I really like seeing his happy face. All the photos are quite good. I think the more street photography that you do, the more you will like doing this sort of thing. I don’t know that I could have ever done street scenes> I’m just not that brave.

    Liked by 1 person

    • It’s one of those things Yvonne. Although I was born and raised in a big city I’m more of an outdoors person. I prefer landscapes but sometimes I feel I’m missing out by not giving it a go.

      Like

Comments are closed.