52 in 2015 Week 17 Wood


I’ve not long since posted this weeks photographs to the 52 in 2015 Group on Flickr. You should take a look, there are some really good photographs in the Group Pool. This week is all about Wood. I had a good idea what I wanted to photograph for this week but as usual time caught up with me and towards the end of the week I still hadn’t been out with the camera. With bad weather predicted for Saturday I knew I bad to get something by Friday at the latest. Otherwise I might not be able to meet the challenge.

52 in 2015 Week 17 Wood.jpg

Not the hardest photograph to capture. Stand in the middle of a wooded area. Point the camera skywards and press the shutter button. Of course it helps if you have a moveable rear screen because you can compose the frame better. A reasonably calm day helps as well because the shutter speed can be slower when you are in the forest causing blur if there’s too much movement in the trees.

My second photograph is from the beach and presented me with a dilemma.

52 in 2015 Week 17 Wood(2).jpg

I wanted to keep the tree which had been washed up on the beach but I wasn’t sure about the pebbles which someone else had placed. Should I remove them or keep them in? In the end I decided they added some extra interest so decided to let them stay. But what would you have done?

7 thoughts on “52 in 2015 Week 17 Wood

    • Mike Hardisty April 27, 2015 / 18:31

      …and so simple to do. Walk into a wood, point the camera straight up and fire the shutter. How simple is that?

      Like

      • vannillarock April 27, 2015 / 18:33

        i know, thats why i like it so much. i have a catalogue of woods of the world from that angle LOL.

        Liked by 1 person

  1. petspeopleandlife April 26, 2015 / 04:26

    The tree to the left is very unusual looking. It has knobby things going up or down the trunk and presents an interesting shot to say the least. I suppose I would have left the stones as well, since it was somebody’s handiwork. I really like the driftwood. You could say that it’s a tree that’s washed up in more ways than one.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Mike Hardisty April 27, 2015 / 18:30

      We get lots of them on Talacre, Yvonne. Seems to be a popular spot….

      Liked by 1 person

  2. sukiesoriginal April 26, 2015 / 08:12

    I like the extra layer made by the stones left on the trunk – I would certainly have left them, and maybe added one myself…

    Liked by 1 person

    • Mike Hardisty April 27, 2015 / 18:29

      I wasn’t sure what to do. I have written a post a good while back about the ethics of moving or adding items to a scene. Previously I’ve gone with my photograph and as I’m not selling it to the press or anything like that I’m free to add or subtract.

      Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.