52 in 2015 Week 18 Shadow


This week I have managed to get the 52 challenge completed before Saturdays’ deadline. How good is that? I was toying with what to photograph this week and as luck would have it I found myself on Talacre Beach just as the sun was rising. More on that in another post. So with the sun low on the horizon I was able to get some really long shadows just perfect for this weeks challenge.

52 in 2015 Week 18 Shadow

Behind me the sky was aglow with shades of orange, yellow, red and purple and the this was being reflected in the sand in the dunes. The 52 challenge allows us to enter two photographs to the group pool but we can only enter one of those for judging. For me, the next photograph is the one I like the best.

52 in 2015 Week 18 Shadow

To get the best definition in the shadows I decided to make this one Black and White. What do you think? Does it work?

As an aside you will see that i have changed the blog theme. It’s nice to refresh things now and again. The photographs you see will be slightly smaller but if you click on any of them you will be taken to my Flickr account where you can see the photograph in a larger size.

2 comments

  1. Both photos show the light and shadow very well but I think I would have left myself out of the pic and would have left the shadows of the fence of the fence. Of course, I’m looking at it with an untrained eye and it’s merely what I think as pleasing to my eyes.

    Like

  2. I agree, Yvonne. My problem was the sun was right behind me. I did try phoographing from the side but I was getting lens reflections. In the end I decided I might as well be in the photograph, not that I really wanted to be there. In the photograph, that is..

    Like

Comments are closed.