Salford Quays


At 03:30 in the morning I was standing outside Media City in Salford Quays getting ready to take a photograph. It was cold, about 2OC and to make matters worse the Magnesium Alloy body of my camera, designed to work at temperatures as low as –10OC, seemed to be absorbing the cold, making my hands feel colder still. Thank goodness for Remote Controls and a Tripod.

MediaCityUK sits on the banks of the Manchester Ship Canal in Salford and Trafford, Greater Manchester, England. As you can guess it is in use by Media Organisations, including the BBC and ITV (a commercial TV company). The land was previous in use as part of the Port of Manchester and Manchester Docks.

Media City Salford

When the dockyards closed in 1982 Salford Quays became one of the first and largest urban regeneration projects in the United Kingdom.

Part of the regeneration has seen housing, a shopping mall, museums, theatre, galleries, cafe’s, bars, sporting venues, business premises and hotels being built.

Starburst

Every 12 minutes throughout the day you can hop on a Manchester Metrolink tram which will take you into Manchester city centre.

Night Reflections

I could have spent longer here and I intend to go back, but not at 03:30 in the morning. At that time it’s too cold and many of the well known buildings weren’t lit up so I was limited in what I could photograph.

14 comments

  1. beautiful images. I love the lights and the reflections. Kudos to you for getting out there at that hour of the day. I have been reading about blue hour photography, twilight and dusk, it is a beautiful time of day.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Oops, my comment flew away. I’m glad you had your camera and decided to stop and take these photos. I think they are spectacular. The reflections are brilliant in the water. I’ve never seen buildings that have a curve. I tried to see if these were an optical illusion but then other structures did not have a curve so I’m assuming these are real. Which river is this in the photo? Does it go through the heart of the city?

    Liked by 1 person

    • I purposely took my camera Yvonne. The building eally do curve like you see in the photograph. They are residential appartments and in the gardens beside there there are some great metal sculptures. When the weather gets warmer I’m going to go back in the early eveing. 3am was great, no traffic, no people to get in your photograph but it was far too cold and many of the well known buildings were not lit up. It’s not actually a river as such. These were all built on reclaimed land which used to be Salford and Manchester docks. I suppose the nearest river, if you want to call it that, is the Machester Ship Canal. For info I extracted this from Wikipedia

      The Manchester Ship Canal is a 36-mile-long (58 km) inland waterway in the North West of England linking Manchester to the Irish Sea. Starting at the Mersey Estuary near Liverpool, it generally follows the original routes of the rivers Mersey and Irwell through the historic counties of Cheshire and Lancashire. Several sets of locks lift vessels about 60 feet (18 m) up to Manchester, where the canal’s terminus was built. Major landmarks along its route include the Barton Swing Aqueduct, the only swing aqueduct in the world, and Trafford Park, the world’s first planned industrial estate and still the largest in Europe.

      It is still in use today.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Impressive photographs – and referring back to an earlier post saying you don’t really ‘do’ early mornings, even more so! I hope you were staying nearby and had a nice warm bed to crawl back into for a few hours.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I live about 50 miles away from Salford quays, Theresa. I never did get to bed until that evening. After dropping off at the airport and then the quays, the sunrise was looking really good. Too good an opportunity to miss so on the way home I diverted to the beach to photograph an abandoned lighthouse

    Like

Comments are closed.