52 in 2015 Week 20 Minimalism


Minimalism, always subjective and highly controversial. There are those who hat in and conversely those who love it.

But that’s what the challenge is this week and here’s how I’ve interpreted it.

52 in 2015 Week 20 Minimalist (2)

Rightly or wrongly this is how I see minimalism. I purposely kept the photograph in Black and White. I like it that way.

We are allowed to submit two photographs, although only one can be submitted for judging. My final photograph is also a Black and White but with a touch of High Key as well.

52 in 2015 Week 20 Minimalist

Now you might have also noticed that I haven’t followed one of the more conventional aspect ratios for these two photographs. That’s because I didn’t think either of them would benefit from that setting. What do you think? Was I right to go for a more square look?

As usual, feel free to comment.

9 thoughts on “52 in 2015 Week 20 Minimalism

  1. petspeopleandlife May 14, 2015 / 05:51

    I like photo number one best. I have no idea about aspect ratios. I know next to nothing about photography. I just know what looks good.-)

    Liked by 1 person

    • Mike Hardisty May 14, 2015 / 19:13

      Aspect Ratio in photography is a fancy way of expressing the relationship between width and height of a photograph, Yvonne. For instance my camera has an aspect ratio of 4:3. or 4320 pixels by 3240 pixels. Hope that explains it. I suppose you could say the ones above are 4:4.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Andrew May 14, 2015 / 10:01

    Number 1 is my preference too. Having the figure off centre forces the eye to scan the image. If it were just centered I think it would hold the attention less.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Theadora Brack May 14, 2015 / 14:23

    I also love the top shot. It caught my eye. And made me smile. Great photograph!
    ~Theadora

    Like

    • Mike Hardisty May 14, 2015 / 19:24

      Theodara, Thank you, I’m glad you liked it. Thank you also for visting and commenting.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Mike Hardisty May 14, 2015 / 19:16

    I thought that at the time Andrew. It really was a grab shot, taken in the back garden but I did think putting it off centre would work better.

    Like

  5. Photos With Finesse May 14, 2015 / 19:49

    I really like #2 and the aspect ratio does it full justice. It’s elegant in it’s simplicity, and the depth really makes it pop. – Suzan –

    Like

  6. Lynne Ayers May 25, 2015 / 00:10

    I like both of these images and they both suit the bw and the square framing. Also think the composition of each is just right.

    Like

Comments are closed.