Llandudno Air Show 2015


My first time at this Air Show and I went with the intention of not specifically concentrating on the aircraft. Seems a bit silly when you think about it – Airshows are all about aircraft. But when you’ve only got an 150mm lens you aren’t going to fill the frame with that thundering jet as they fly past you.

For those of you who don’t know, Llandudno is a seaside town with a wide bay enclosed at either end with two rather large hills, the Great and Little Orme’s.

In the town you will find a mix of all types of shops, department stores, cafes, cake shops pubs and of course tourist shops

_5234951.jpg

The Rock I’m talking about here is not a stone or anything like that. It’s a traditional sweet candy stick, usually pink on the outside, white inside with the name of the town running right through the entire length. Originally it had a minty flavour but over time it has been developed and now comes in all types of shapes, colours and flavours.

Although it was still early the crowds were starting to gather on the seafront for what was promising to be a good display, coupled with entertainment along the seafront and in the bandstand.

Crowds

The airshow was just beginning to start with the first display inbound over the Little Orme

The Old Buckers

A nice slow start to the show with a pair of Bucker Jungman Bi-Planes allowing the photographers to get some practice in, zooming, panning and using our rapid fire shutters, before the fast boys put in an appearance.

Next up was a BAC Strikemaster which is a  British jet-powered training and light attack aircraft.

BAC Strikemaster

Like I said earlier I can’t fill the frame with the aircraft as I don’t have a big enough lens but I hope you can see it enough to appreciate it’s size. It really is small and with the Little Orme behind looks rather delicate

Unlike the Rhyl Air Show which I usually attend Llandudno has music performances on the seafront as well.

Harpist

Helen Wyn Pari is a well-known harpist and she gave us a really good performance in between some of the flying displays.

Meanwhile on the beach a photographer was getting ready for the next display

That's A Big One

Which happened to be a Catalina decked out in the livery of the US Air Force

Catalina On Approach

Great plane and the pilot really gave us a brilliant display, even changing his flight path at one point so that the photographers amongst the crowd could get a top shot.

Can you spot that lone photographer up there on the Little Orme? I hope he got a good photograph of the Avro Anson as it flew over him on it’s way to start it’s display.

Avro Anson

Back on the seafront the Siren Sisters had started their musical performance

The Siren Sisters

Now this I really liked. The girls are so photogenic, better still the music is my style and I could have listened to them all day. Judge for yourself.

Back to the airshow though. There were some extra displays including the Red Arrows but unfortunately I had to leave early to catch a train. so I couldn’t stay to watch.

Oh! I almost forgot. I like Jazz as well so it was a surprise to see a Jazz Band performing as well

Jazz Band

Unfortunately I didn’t catch their name but I might see them at the Llandudno Jazz Festival in July.

8 thoughts on “Llandudno Air Show 2015

  1. Jim Miller May 25, 2015 / 18:26

    Brilliant blog Mike………………just a pity you had to leave before the Red Arrows arrived.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Mike Hardisty May 25, 2015 / 18:37

    All down to Arriva Trains, Wales, Jim. Normal service, one train every hour, with only two carriages. Train was absolutely packed going and I thought it would be a nightmare going back.

    I get to see the Arrers in August anyway when they come to the Rhyl Airshow, a couple of miles from me.

    Like

  3. stephenransome May 25, 2015 / 22:28

    Very nice indeed Mike as usual. We had stuff on this year and couldn’t make it..Steph’s Birthday party to organise.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Mike Hardisty May 26, 2015 / 17:21

      That was a shame Steve. My first time there and I thoroughly enjoyed it.

      Like

  4. petspeopleandlife May 26, 2015 / 03:40

    Now that was one impressive air show. Great photos of all the acts. So much entertainment with a singing trio that’s retro 1940’s. And I love the harp lady. I can imagine the beautiful music that she created.

    Like

    • Mike Hardisty May 26, 2015 / 17:22

      The best part for me was the retro 40’s act. But my intention was never really to concentrate on the planes. I knew there were going to be some acts on Yvonne and that’s what I mainly went to photograph.

      Liked by 1 person

  5. theresagreen June 25, 2015 / 09:38

    Thanks for that post, Mike. I would have gone to the show myself but had to work so good to see what I missed! The Red Arrows stayed on for a while and I did get a good, albeit brief view of them later in the week; must have been en route to Valley.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Mike Hardisty June 26, 2015 / 08:46

      I’ve seen and photographed the “arrers” so many times it just seemed right to leave early and catch a train before the rush. I couldn’t believe that Arriva Trains hadn’t taken into account the Airshow. besides which I’ll see them at Rhyl in August/September

      Like

Comments are closed.