52 in 2015 Week 27 Natural Light


How hard can that be? Natural Light, it’s all around us during the day time. Unless, of course you are in a cold and dark cellar somewhere. Probably not, or you wouldn’t be reading this. Anyway, all I have to do is pick up m camera, step outside, fire off the shutter, and I’ve probably got something I can use. But it’s got to be more than that.

52 in 2015 Week 27 Natural Light

So I waited until the sun was setting, nice and low on the horizon. At this time of the year, when it does, it bathes the bookcase in a nice golden light which later turns a deep red. Perfect and I didn’t even have to leave the house.

Avoid making a commotion, just as you wouldn’t stir up the water before fishing. Don’t use a flash out of respect for the natural lighting, even when there isn’t any. If these rules aren’t followed, the photographer becomes unbearably obtrusive. – Henri Cartier-Bresson

For my next one I did just step outside, into the garden. At this time of the year the Red Hot Poker is in full bloom and the bees love it. As you get closer to the plant you can hear them buzzing as they move from flower to flower collecting pollen. Using a zoom lens I decided to play around with the DOF of this one, blurring the background to make the flower stand out. My wife has a saying, “Red and Green should never be seen together”. But I disagree with this one. What do you think?

52 in 2015 Week 27 Natural Light - 2

Well that’s it for this week. I hope you enjoyed the photographs – Mike

5 comments