Weekly Photo Challenge: Connected


Another busy week, I’m only getting around to writing this post, even although I took the photographs last Saturday……..and there’s the first connection. All of the photographs for today’s post were shot on the same day.

See how easy it is to make a photograph or photographs fit a theme.

The Wedding

Last Saturday I was in Liverpool, just walking the streets, trying to capture some interesting photographs. Street Photography is so different from the landscapes I normally do, but it’s a something that I’m really beginning to enjoy.

After intensively exploring many genres over the last 30 plus years I have, in recent years, focused on Street Photography as an outlet for my photographic energies. Street Photography is somewhat of a misnomer as it can be practised anywhere people are photographed in the environment in which they are found. For some, myself included, being a photographer is as much a state of mind. – Michael Dubiner

I'm Getting Married

A lot of people go with their friends to Lennon’s Pub and the famous Liverpool Cavern Club which is a short walk away from here on the same street. It’s perfect for street photography. Just hang around and people sort of pose for you and best of all most of the time they don’t even register you are there. This lovely young lady was calling her friend to join her, seemed too good an opportunity to miss.

I love photographing people, especially tribal and indigenous people. Before I begin photographing I hang around a while to establish some contact, then work closely to illustrate the connection… – Rosanna Pennella

Here’s another connection. Well two actually. Both photographs are Black and White, one is from a wedding and this lady is on her hen night.

For those of you who don’t know what a “hen night” is here’s an explanation from an American linguist in the UK  who makes some  “Observations on British and American English”.

Mickey and Friend

Busted! She saw me just as I clicked the shutter. It’s not so obvious that I’m taking photographs because I’m shooting from the hip almost. I don’t hold the camera up to my eye or anything like that or press the shutter button. No! My camera is paired to my smart phone via a Wi-Fi link. My smart phone is in my pocket and I use that to fire the shutter on my camera.

The Gallery

I think you’re either going to like or hate the photograph above. I’ll leave you to decide….

Every part of the photographic image carries some information that contributes to its total statement; the viewer’s responsibility is to see, in the most literal way, everything that is there and respond to it. To put it another way, the statement the image makes – not just what it show you, but the mood, moral evaluation and casual connections it suggest – is built up from those details. A proper ‘reading’ of a photograph sees and responds to them consciously. – Howard S. Becker

I’ll leave you with this final photograph. Four young girls out on a shopping trip. Totally unaware that I had just photographed them.

Girls

Well that’s it. But I’ll leave you with a question. Is Street Photography an invasion of privacy?

As usual, I’ve included links to other bloggers who are sharing their connections.

https://thedailyblabber.wordpress.com/2015/09/04/connected/
https://mostlymonochrome.wordpress.com/2015/09/04/motorway/
https://kardzbykris.wordpress.com/2015/09/04/say-it-again-spam/
https://angleandviews.wordpress.com/2015/09/04/connected/
https://felixrsv.wordpress.com/2015/09/04/weekly-photo-challenge-connected-kolkata-hong-kong/
https://spiritualdragonfly.wordpress.com/2015/09/04/the-daily-post-photo-challenge-connected/
https://gottatakemorepix.wordpress.com/2015/09/04/wpc-connected/
https://belohorizontedailyphoto.wordpress.com/2015/09/04/wp-weekly-photo-challenge-connected/
https://maryloustone66.wordpress.com/2015/09/04/daily-post-photo-challenge-the-circle-of-life/
https://geriatrixfotogallerie.wordpress.com/2015/09/05/land-line/

8 thoughts on “Weekly Photo Challenge: Connected

  1. Margie September 12, 2015 / 16:57

    While most street photographers aren’t in violation of the law, I personally believe people should be allowed to decide whether they want the image of them to be used in any public forum, even a blog. The lady with the books in her hand doesn’t look pleased. If there was even a remote chance that she felt violated in some way, then she should have been consulted.
    People are increasingly concerned because they have no control over who will see the pictures and they are scared of having photos used against them. Perhaps photographers don’t think of these practical concerns about the safety of women (and children) when they are in pursuit of their art.

    Liked by 2 people

    • Mike Hardisty September 14, 2015 / 11:34

      That’s a fair comment Margie and yet more and more people are using their phones to record and publish everything in their life and everyone else’d for that matter. You only have to watch the scene of an accident to see the phones come out. Selfie sticks are everywhere, they are used with no thought to anyone around the user. Couple of weeks ago I was hit by one at a well known location in the National Park as someone with a selfie stick turned round.

      Like

  2. petspeopleandlife September 13, 2015 / 04:27

    I’m a fan of candid pics and B&W and these fill the bill very well. Al are interesting, Mike, You did very well, Mike.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. sukiesoriginal September 13, 2015 / 09:49

    I love candid shots, and I have taken some – but I sometimes feel awkward about it. I guess not being obvious would help – your set up, or a good zoom, so long as the subject is “in public”.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Mike Hardisty September 14, 2015 / 11:40

      When i first started i used the zoom lens but it was more obvious as the lens was bigger and I had to bring it up to my eye to make sure I was getting the shot.

      Some tricks. Pretend you are taking a photograph of a building. bring the camera down as though you are checking that it came out ok and use the LCD screen to take the photograph of people. Look at the menu outside a restaurant and press the shutter. Just walk down the street with the camera slung around your neck. Make sure you have a fast shutter speed selected and fire off the camera.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. pix & kardz September 19, 2015 / 16:08

    thanks for the pingback! while it is true that everyone in a public place is subject to being an unwitting camera target, and i have images of strangers in some of my favourite images, i do share some of the concerns that Margie has mentioned above.
     
    while an extreme situation – what if someone has sought assylum in a faraway place for whatever reason, or has been given a new identity – and is suddenly part of a post that has the potential of going viral?
     
    i find it sometimes takes away the candour of the moment to ask for permission beforehand, but after an image has been captured, i generally ask individuals if it’s ok to publish their portraits. and sometimes it is interesting to see how some face the camera and give it their best shot to bring sincerity and their best presentation if they know that the moment could be documented.
     
    in my case, my rule of thumb is – if it was me in a given scenario, would i be ok if my face appeared in that image? people, after all, are more than just camera targets. everyone has value, and a dignity worth preserving.
     
    and yes – sometimes people say no, and do not give their permission to have their images publishes. i guess that’s just life. so i respect that. having said that, you have some great shots here – although the woman with the book would possibly beg to differ.🙂

    Like

    • Mike Hardisty September 20, 2015 / 11:43

      Thank you for such a detailed comment. On the day that I took those photographs I was with a well known street photographer, walking around the city on a walk sponsored by a major camera manufacturer and a camera retailer here in the UK. Is it ethical? That’s one I am still in two minds about. I must admit though I do enjoy taking the photographs. I have been down the route of asking for permission. People are so rude at times. Maybe it’s a cop out on my part but I no longer ask.

      Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.