52 in 2015 Week 36 Backlit


You may have noticed that we are not in Week 36, that’s long gone. I tend to write the posts about my Weekly Photo Challenge, when I have a bit of free time. This usually means they are like a Number 13 bus. You don’t get one for ages and then they all come along at the same time. One behind the other.

Backlit is another one of those techniques that I rarely use. There’s not that much call for it with landscape, photography, which probably makes up about 90% of the photographs I take.

Interestingly, I was looking for a photo quote about backlighting and found only one.

We’re in charge of our own photo adventures. Adventure means taking a different path. It can mean getting down on the ground for a really low angle shot, or photographing not the entire flower but a backlit petal. – Eddie Soloway

For Week 36’s challenge I decided to go Black and White. Another one from my street walk in Liverpool. Let me just say that the photograph, like all of the ones I do for this challenge are done in the appropriate week. I don’t use Stock images that I have some time ago. Each photograph is taken specifically for that weeks challenge.

52 in 2015 Week 36 Backlit (2)

I sort of screwed this one up. But in a way it worked. I hadn’t changed my camera settings from the day before when I had 9 point focus set. The result was the camera actually focused on the lady to the rear rather than the one at the front.  Sometimes you are luck, sometimes you are not.

That’s it, as usual these weekly challenge posts are kept reasonably short. I hope you enjoyed the photograph.

3 thoughts on “52 in 2015 Week 36 Backlit

  1. petspeopleandlife October 19, 2015 / 03:58

    An unusual perspective . I like this one a lot. You did good on this one and the women had no idea a camera was pointed at them.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Mike Hardisty October 20, 2015 / 18:10

      For street I mainly shoot from the hip Yvonne. Soemtimes you get good ones, sometimes you don’t. Or at least when I first started it was like that. But I’m getting better at getting that all important shot.

      Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.