In Search Of Autumn Colours


First of all please look at the photographs full size. You can do that by clicking on them and you will see a better resolution as well.

Here in our little part of North Wales Autumn is finally making itself present and we are beginning to see the trees assume some really nice colours.  According to the weather guru’s Thursday was looking like a good day to go in search of those colours.  So a quick call to,  Adrian Evans, a photographer buddy of mine and a day out was arranged.

First stop, Llyn Crafnant, where the wind was blowing nice and strong and boy was it a cold bitter wind. But there’s was the occasional break in the clouds were the sun was coming through, lighting the hills up in the distance. some nice colours but maybe another week or so.

Llyn Crafnant

On the road back down from Llyn Crafnant you have to go through the forest. By now the sun was really out , lighting up those orange and greens with a beautiful warm glow. I’m sure it didn’t look like this on the way up to Llyn Crafnant, but I’m not complaining.

Autumn Leaves

Before heading into Betws-y-Coed, now there’s a great Welsh name, we stopped off at the Grey Mare Falls. Nothing particularly exciting, as we haven’t had a lot of rain recently. Instead I settled for the view away from the falls. It just looked more enchanting. All I needed at this point was to find a fairy sitting on one of the rocks. What you don’t believe in fairies? Are you sure…..?

52 in 2015 Week 43 Texture

My final photograph is the stone bridge over the Afon Conwy on the Betws-y-Coed to Blaenau Ffestiniog road. I’ve passed over this bridge hundreds of ties and never noticed the view here.

Reflections

Well that’s it. Autumn is starting to show here and if you live in the Northern Hemisphere it must be time to get out and seek those colours.

10 thoughts on “In Search Of Autumn Colours

  1. Beatrice October 25, 2015 / 19:02

    Stunning pictures, as always! I was in Pembrokeshire at the end of september..a beautiful part of Wales (but no autumn colors yet!)… I hope to visit also the North very soon, your pictures make me want to leave immediately!!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Mike Hardisty October 31, 2015 / 12:18

      We’ve had some wild weather the last few day Beatrice so I’m not so sure what the trees will be like now.

      Liked by 1 person

    • Mike Hardisty October 31, 2015 / 12:19

      Thank you Josee. I love this time of year but you have to be quick because it doesn’t last long.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Janet Sunderland October 27, 2015 / 03:13

    It’s restful for me to take time and really look at your photos. I spend so much time with words, and with your photos, I can simply look and enjoy. Thank you for the time to empty my head. I dove under the bridge and emerged smiling. J.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Mike Hardisty October 31, 2015 / 12:20

      That bridge really is quite good to photograph and I didn’t know it could be done until last week. I’m glad you like the photographs Janet.

      Like

  3. petspeopleandlife October 30, 2015 / 04:26

    Loved all of these but the bridge and the tree lined road are the my favorites. Excellent color. The pics look almost mystical. Maybe the fairies can only be seen by believers.🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Mike Hardisty October 31, 2015 / 12:23

      It’s a lovely stretch of road through the forest, Yvonne. Narrow in places, though so you have to be careful. But I like going there because there are two good lakes surrounded by mountains covered with trees.

      Liked by 1 person

      • petspeopleandlife October 31, 2015 / 15:52

        The area sounds magical. I can well imagine you’ll be returning for lots of photographing of the views.

        Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.