Black and White


Following on from the 52 Challenge where I used Black and White for the street photographs I thought I’d stick to that format for this post.

Actually there was a bit of method to my madness this week. It was a horrible grey flat day. No clouds, just grey dullness. The sea was flat calm but I decided to do a long exposure to really flatten it out and give a sort of misty look. I didn’t think colour would have done justice to this photograph, hence the Black and White, which gives this stark look.

Jetty

Later that day I was on the pier at Llandudno. A little bit of cloud has appeared, but that cloud brought rain. Once again I decided to go for Black and White. It just emphasises the difference between the reflections of the lights and the dark wooden boards.

Llandudno Pier

I hope you like them.

11 thoughts on “Black and White

  1. Jane Lurie November 7, 2015 / 17:31

    Great choices for your exposures and composition. Perfect in black and white, Mike. Love these.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Mike Hardisty November 8, 2015 / 14:41

      A combination of a dull flat day and a long exposure. I’m glad you liked it.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. petrus November 7, 2015 / 19:19

    Really like the first shot!

    Like

    • Mike Hardisty November 8, 2015 / 14:44

      Thank you. I’m glad you liked it.

      Like

    • Mike Hardisty November 8, 2015 / 14:43

      It just seemed the right choice for both of these, Yvonne. I was actually in Llandudno to do a bit of street photography. It’s a tourist town on the coast so there’s always people about. As the day wore on I realised I could get a few of the pier if I hung around until dark. The rain starting was a bonus.

      Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.