52 in 2016 Week 4 What’s Inside


I had all sorts of ideas for this weeks challenge but events rather caught up with me, leaving me little time to implement those ideas. So when in doubt retire to the abbey. It’s my favourite spot when I want to try out something new for photography indoors. Well it wasn’t exactly something new when I use the camera. More what happens when I post-process the photograph when I get home. Regular reader will know I’m a fan of HDR, but in recent months I have been trying to move away from this; instead, I’m trying to master Luminosity Masks.

52 in 2016 Week 4 What's Inside_0002

 

I know, I know. “What the 8&$% are Luminosity Masks” I can hear you asking. In simple terms it’s a method of …….Aaah, you don’t really need to know. It’s not easy to explain either and implementing the masks in Photoshop can be confusing at times. Look at the photograph above there’s no blown out highlights. Previously  I would have achieved this using HDR software, Now I’m using Luminosity Masks. Yep! That makes sense. I hope?

In the photograph below I used LM’s to balance out the lights. believe it or not, this is not someone’s house. It’s a quaint cafe in Llandudno. Great isn’t it? And so relaxed.

52 in 2016 Week 4 What's Inside_0001

That’s it. I hope you enjoyed the photographs. and if you want to know more about Luminosity Masks follow this link

7 thoughts on “52 in 2016 Week 4 What’s Inside

    • Mike Hardisty February 14, 2016 / 16:34

      Yeah I think so to, Second one was with my phone, it’s ok, but…..

      Liked by 1 person

      • arv! February 16, 2016 / 13:52

        🙂

        Like

  1. Richard Walliker February 25, 2016 / 09:58

    “Regular reader will know I’m a fan of HDR, but in recent months I have been trying to move away from this; instead, I’m trying to master Luminosity Masks.” Good move Mike.

    Like

    • Mike Hardisty February 25, 2016 / 10:18

      It’s harder to learn and not every photograph is suitable but more often than not I just use one photograph and develop the raw in Lightroom

      Like

Comments are closed.