Weekly Photo Challenge: Harmony


If you’ve ever read my About page you will know that I use the Olympus O-MD E-M1 camera and have done now for almost two years. Previously I used Pentax cameras but I found that my trusty old Pentax was getting too heavy to lug around. Maybe it’s because I’m not as young and fit as I used to be. Anyway, the Olympus suits me now and I’ve no intention of changing it in the near future. One thing I will say though;

I’m not into the whole Canon versus Nikon versus Sony argument. I leave that to others more suitably qualified. All you need is your eye and a camera; which doesn’t have to be a high-end DSLR with loads of expensive lenses to get great looking photographs.

Last Saturday, I had invited Sharon Jones, a fellow blogger, for her first ever street walk in Liverpool with the Fujiholics. Neither of us are Fuji camera users but that doesn’t matter. All are welcome and usually about 100-120 photographers turn up at the starting point. It’s meant to be a fun day out  walking the streets taking photographs and chatting to other photographers. So it really p!$$es me off when right at the start a “know it all photographer”, someone you have never met before, comes along and first criticises my choice of camera and then proceeds to tell Sharon how to set up and use her camera. I felt so embarrassed and annoyed. I’d told Sharon what a friendly bunch of photographers we were and the first person she meets acts like a total prat.

Anyway, enough of the rant. Let’s get on with the photographs, which are all from the Liverpool Photo Walk…….

Down by the River Mersey is the Ferry Terminal which takes you across the river to Birkenhead. Some of you may remember a song written by Gerry Marsden about the ferry, called “Ferry, Cross The Mersey”. Surprisingly, there are adverts at the terminal about a cafe dedicated to the Beatles but no mention of Gerry.

Fab 4

In Mathew Street is the famous Cavern Club. Well not quite. The original was filled in and a new one opened just a little further up the street. Opposite the Cavern Club is the cavern Pub and this photograph was taken outside the pub. Have a look at the names on the bricks.

Let's Talk

The docks are a very popular tourist attraction in Liverpool. I wanted to photograph something different so it’d a down low shot for me. Just as well it’s still winter or it could have got embarrassing.

Over the Bridge

Heading past the Everyman theatre walking towards “Paddy’s Sombrero” better known as the Liverpool Metropolitan Cathedral I spotted these three walking along, totally unaware that I was there.. For me it was the shadows that made the photograph.

Friends

Now at this point you might be thinking “what have these photographs got to do with Harmony?” It’s easy, don’t you see the relationship? As Ruth Bernhard so succinctly put it;

For me, the creation of a photograph is experienced as a heightened emotional response, most akin to poetry and music, each image the culmination of a compelling impulse I cannot deny. Whether working with a human figure or a still life, I am deeply aware of my spiritual connection with it. In my life, as in my work, I am motivated by a great yearning for balance and harmony beyond the realm of human experience, reaching for the essence of oneness with the Universe.

Steps

A switch to some architecture now. The fire stairs caught my eye as we were walking around, in fact they seemed to catch the eye of everyone on the photowalk as we were all stopping to point our cameras at them.

Now this is one of those photographs I’m not sure about. Does it have any value? I  don’t mean monetary. I was think more along the lines of what does the photograph actually say. Is it intrusive? Or is it just a moment in time captured by the camera?

Cup of Soup

I shot this one from the opposite side of the street. Here in the UK you can no longer smoke inside public buildings. This includes, bars, restaurants, cafes, shops, the workplace. So you will often see people standing outside smoking. What I liked about this was the stripes. They show up so well in Black and White.

Smokin'

Those Fab Four again. You just can’t get away from them.

Fab Four Taxi

In the photograph below the girl on the phone is my main subject but she was being overpowered so to speak by the steps which where a very light grey. To try and balance this out during the conversion to Black and White using Google Silver Efex I did darken the stairs using the control points to turn down the exposure

On My Phone

This is one of my favourites of this series from Liverpool. In general I darkened the whole image except for the clock face and the words Oh Me Oh My. I really wanted them to stand out……

Oh Me Oh My

….and this is my other favourite. These two ladies had just come out of the pub  for a quick smoke. They saw me with the camera and just started laughing. It really was too good an opportunity to miss and they were happy for me to take their photograph.

Smile

The only photograph I have kept in colour. It’s so bright and would have been lost if I had converted it to Black and White.

Stag Party

Another cafe shot. I like the way they are laughing here.

That's Funny

Now then, all the way around the route for the photowalk we kept bumping into these girls and their friends. In the end I decided to photograph them. They know I’m doing it but don’t seem in the least bit bothered.

Keep Smiling

Emma and John. I wonder if they are still together?

Love Lock

That’s it from me this week. For Sharon’s view on the photowalk around Liverpool follow this link.

As usual, here ‘s what other bloggers are saying about this weeks challenge.

Witrian’s Photofolio Weekly Photo Challenge- Harmony
Shots and Captures Weekly Photo Challenge- Harmony
Weekly Photo Challenge- Harmony – imyesterdaysgirl
Jake Kuyser Photo Challenge- Harmony
The Land Slide Photography Hawaii Five O
Chasing Serenity with a Lens Weekly Photo Challenge- Harmony
Ann Edwards Photography Weekly Photo Challenge – Harmony
Waterfall – Lauras Photos
Through the Lens of my Life New Beginnings
A Certain Slant of Light Photography Lights and Harmony

12 thoughts on “Weekly Photo Challenge: Harmony

  1. the6millionpman March 10, 2016 / 18:07

    Ugh there is nothing worse than some know-it-all giving advice that’s not wanted, or in this case from the image’s, needed. These shot’s are cracking, no amount of fancy kit can make up for simply having a good eye for an image.

    Liked by 2 people

    • Mike Hardisty March 12, 2016 / 09:34

      Thank you. I don’t often come across people like that, he really was annoying. Normally I would tell someone like that where to go but that’s harder to do when you’re with company.

      Liked by 1 person

    • Mike Hardisty March 12, 2016 / 09:27

      You would have enjoyed it. Nice walk through the city. No tripod, no HDR, shooting on the go…..it’s different

      Like

  2. Ivan Pilov March 11, 2016 / 05:19

    The man in a cafe is an absolutely valuable shot! And the girl sitting on stairs 👍

    Liked by 1 person

    • Mike Hardisty March 12, 2016 / 09:35

      Thank you Ivan for taking the time to comment and I’m glad you liked some of the photographs.

      Like

  3. sjones987 March 11, 2016 / 19:24

    Thanks for your company on the walk Mike, it has been fascinating to see the differences in how we saw things. It was a fabulous day and I hope we can go out on a trip again sometime.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Mike Hardisty March 12, 2016 / 09:28

      It was fun Sharon. It would be nice if we could meet up again sometime. It’s always the case. Photographers might shoot the same thing but they will look at it differently.

      Like

  4. saerielblg March 18, 2016 / 12:30

    Your photos look great, the candid laughter ones especially give a sense of harmony~
    Couldn’t agree more with your comment about photography snobs. Of course there’s a limit to what you can do with a supposedly bad camera, but ultimately it’s up to the talent of the photographer.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Mike Hardisty March 18, 2016 / 14:37

      I don’t normally like posed shots but in this case…….

      Like

  5. TheXortr May 31, 2016 / 05:40

    I am not a photographer, but love beautiful pictures!!! They move me my soul very often as music does. I love B&W photos. I am so enjoying your pictures and you’re a good writer too. Thank you for sharing the beauty of the world and the city of Liverpool

    Like

    • Mike Hardisty June 8, 2016 / 15:39

      Liverpool is a great place to spend a day with a camera, street photography, historic buildings and great museums that allow photography. I’m glad you liked the photographs

      Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.