Weekly Photo Challenge: Curves


So we’ve gone and done it. Here in the UK we’ve voted to leave the European Union. Now that’s a curve ball that a lot of analysts and politicians didn’t see coming. I know, it has really got nothing to do with curves but hey it’s a momentous decision that we as a country voted for. What did I vote, IN or OUT…..that’s between me and the ballot box.

Curves are everywhere, in nature, in architecture, in household items. Look around you, most things are curved. Right now I’m sitting at my curved desk looking at my curved phone and using a curved keyboard whilst I write this post.  You only have to look at this photograph to see those curves.

The Pin Mill

Even when you look really close you can see curves. Those water lilies are curved, even the wings on the Damselfly has curves.

Damselfly

Same for the Red Darter, sitting on the curved petals of a pond lily

Dragonfly

The petals, the leaves, the stamen, all curved.

Pond Lily

In architecture we have curved archways such as this one in the Pin Mill at Bodnant Garden, which looks out onto the lily pond.

Archway

It seems we just prefer curves to linear square or rectangular shapes.

Steps

Finally, I’d like to leave you with this slightly rounded shape of the pond which lies just below the main house at Bodnant Gardens

Bodnant Garden Lake

I hope you enjoyed the photographs of curves and as usual here’s what other bloggers are saying about this subject.

jennsmidlifecrisis Weekly Photo Challenge- Curve
True story. Really. White Flowers
The World Is a Book… Art of Japanese Calligraphy
Erin’s Big World Weekly Photo Challenge- Curve
Picks of my pics … Weekly Photo Challenge- Curve
Exploring the world Curved Garden Paths
Lins Doodles Weekly Photo Challenge – Curve
His promise… – It Is Still Real
The Photographer Smiled… Gold and blue
My Photographic Life A Dancer’s Curves

24 thoughts on “Weekly Photo Challenge: Curves

  1. arv! June 24, 2016 / 16:51

    Mike this is a great response to WPC curve. the pictures are amazing! Love the architecture and pond pictures

    Liked by 1 person

    • Mike Hardisty June 25, 2016 / 09:59

      Bodnant Gardens is a beautiful place for a photographer to wander around in any season of the year. Waterfalls, ponds, architecture, paths through woodland and meadows, sloping hills, all make for great photographs

      Liked by 1 person

      • arv! June 25, 2016 / 12:09

        looking at pictures I’m sure it’s a photographer’s delight.🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  2. janelily7 June 24, 2016 / 17:52

    Yes I see curves everywhere. love your photos. .I hope your ballot box doesn’t talk to mine it’ll start ‘ another’ incident.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Mike Hardisty June 28, 2016 / 12:11

      It’s not too hard to find curves in nature.

      Like

    • Mike Hardisty June 28, 2016 / 12:12

      Thank you, I’m glad you liked the photographs.

      Like

  3. Ann @Ann Edwards Photography June 24, 2016 / 19:23

    great images of my favourite garden – love Bodnant Gardens.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Mike Hardisty June 25, 2016 / 10:00

      Bit hard on the feet after a hot day of lugging around camera gear, though

      Like

    • Mike Hardisty June 25, 2016 / 10:02

      It is a great place to wander around Cynthia. I only walked around half of the gardens the other day, but the beauty is it’s not too far away and I can always go back anytime

      Liked by 1 person

    • Mike Hardisty June 28, 2016 / 12:13

      I sometimes wonder what to include as photographs but as I was in Bodnant it seemed appropriate to include some of the scenes from the garden

      Liked by 1 person

  4. petspeopleandlife June 25, 2016 / 05:09

    Your examples of curves that you have presented here are beautiful and refreshing. I really enjoyed seeing all of them. The curved steps and the ponds are fantastic.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Mike Hardisty June 25, 2016 / 10:06

      Bodnant is one of those places that look good at any time of the year, Yvonne. From a photographers point of view there’s so much to photograph over acres of land.

      Like

  5. theresagreen June 28, 2016 / 09:36

    Beautiful series of images of a familiar place from an interesting perspective.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Mike Hardisty June 28, 2016 / 12:15

      Sometimes I like to be different, I’m trying to get away from the purely landscape photographs that I nearly always do, hence the dabble with street photography earlier in the year.

      Liked by 1 person

  6. Collect Life June 29, 2016 / 05:35

    I love the colors and curves of the water lilies! It’s amazing how you honed in on the beauty of the graceful lines of your various subjects. Great job!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Mike Hardisty June 29, 2016 / 16:00

      Practice I suppose. I’ve been a photographer for years. Thank you for taking the time to visit and leave a comment, always appreciated.

      Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.