Weekly Photo Challenge: Details


After a busy week with two days on the Mach Loop photographing low flying military aircraft it’s time to settle down to something more sedate for this week challenge. I thought I’d start with another low flyer, this time a Damsel Fly.

Damsel Fly
Olympus OM-D E-M1, Olympus M.Zuiko Digital 40-150/4.0-5.6 R, 1/250s at f5.6, ISO 200

Although not truly a macro photograph my lens has got close enough to show the detail on the wings. And now for something completely different. A beautiful Pond Lily and if you look close enough you can see a bug on it.

Pond lily
Olympus OM-D E-M1, M.ZUIKO DIGITAL ED 12-40mm 1:2.8 PRO, 1/60s at f6.3, ISO 200

This is slightly different. Walking through the Newborough Forest I came upon these flowers. I was searching for Red Squirrels which seemed to have suddenly become very camera-shy. No idea what they are but I liked the clusters of white and the shape.

Wild Flowers
Olympus OM-D E-M1, Olympus M.Zuiko Digital 40-150/4.0-5.6 R, 1/16s at f7.1, ISO 100

Another one I found in the forest. Once again not a macro but a very good close-up. You can see the fine hairs on the buds.

Wild Flower
Olympus OM-D E-M1, Olympus M.Zuiko Digital 40-150/4.0-5.6 R, 1/100s at f7.1, ISO 100

Well that’s it for this week. Wednesday I’m changing my broadband supplier so there’s a fair chance I’ll be experiencing disruption over this week as things are prepared prior to the change-over. Call it co-incidence but over the last few days I have noticed that my broadband speed has slowly been decreasing and things really are slowing up. I wonder why?

Anyway, here’s what other bloggers are saying about this weeks challenge;

tybeetabby There Be Dragons
shakibaphotography Details-Bologna
Thiksey Monastery,Leh. – GalleryofScape
Ponderosa Trees – Listening For Thunder
My Wild Australia WP Weekly Photo Challenge – Details
Pink Tulip Orchids – Steve Grundy Photography
A Certain Slant of Light Photography Feathered Glory
Spirit of Dragonflies WPC – Details
DAVID OAKES -IMAGES. Daily Post Weekly Photo Challenge – Detail (2)
WPC- Details – gottatakemorepix

9 thoughts on “Weekly Photo Challenge: Details

  1. petspeopleandlife July 23, 2016 / 01:53

    These nature photos are quite impressive. Really excellent. The flowers are beautiful. I missed a post with the planes so need to comment on that one.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Mike Hardisty July 25, 2016 / 13:23

      The flowers were really just “grab” photo’s Yvonne. I often do this when I’m out and about. If I see nice flowers I’ll just grab a photograph even although I went out to do something else like landscapes

      Liked by 1 person

      • petspeopleandlife July 25, 2016 / 22:40

        Certainly I can see you not passing up a gorgeous flower. We don’t have flowers to see other than at an arboretum. The other flowers are merely landscape plants and there isn’t anything spectacular ab0ut what’s used here in Texas. Just regular common stuff that will tolerate the heat and some regular watering via underground irrigation systems.

        Like

  2. Jane Lurie July 24, 2016 / 07:43

    “Nature never lets us down”…beautiful details Mike.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Mike Hardisty July 25, 2016 / 13:26

      You can always find something to photograph when you’re out and about, Jane. Even although I’ve not gone out to photograph flowers I will capture them if I’ve got the time. You never know when the can be used for something.

      Liked by 1 person

    • Mike Hardisty July 25, 2016 / 13:27

      They’re easy to capture when they settle down, a lot harder when they are moving

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Inger July 28, 2016 / 18:35

    The Damsel Fly is really gorgeous, the blue colour is striking!🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Mike Hardisty July 29, 2016 / 09:30

      I do like that blue colour, it shows up well against the greeny yeelow of the leaf

      Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.