Weekly Photo Challenge–H2O


Whoo Hoo! It’s Thursday and I’m actually early for a change. Despite being up CAD East yesterday to photograph low flying military aircraft as they transit the Mach Loop I’m ahead of schedule. Having now had my broadband link restored albeit still with some dodgy speeds I’m now able to concentrate on the blog again. This week it’s H2O so let’s get started and get some photographs on show, After all, that’s what Say It With A Camera is all about.

In Greenfields Industrial Park which is now a Heritage Museum you can find several waterfalls. In the industrial age water was a source of power, turning mill wheels and engines. This is a great waterfall to photograph but it really is a shame that they don’t cut the vegetation back. It would be a much better photograph.

Three Tier Waterfall

First and foremost, make it an obvious picture of colour! Rather than looking for rocks, leaves, trees, waterfalls, birds, flowers, fire hydrants, starfish, boats, orchards, or bridges, focus your energy and vision on red, blue, yellow, orange, green, or violet. Colour first, content second! – Bryan Peterson

Mirror

That’s what I’ve tried to do above. Some of the sunsets we get here are quite startling, brilliant colours, but they only last for a short time, especially in the winter months. A photograph really doesn’t do them justice and yet I have been accused of over-hyping the colours on some sunsets. Honestly, you have to see them to really appreciate them.

Cwm Idwal and the Afon Idwal have always fascinated me ever since I moved to North Wales. The Afon (River) Idwal drops down the valley from the lake which is higher up in the valley. By the time it gets down to the bottom of the valley it’s usually flowing pretty strongly over the rocks and that’s where most people photograph it. From the wooden bridge at the start of the walk up to the Cwm. Yet, if you follow the river up the valley there are some really good photographs to capture and it’s far faster than following the well trodden path that most walker use.

Say I’m on a path along a stream, but what I really want to do is be down at the stream, not along the path. I go down along the side of the stream and I move up and down, back and forth, looking for, say, reflections. I’m watching the movement of the water. When I find something that pulls me in, something that I feel connected to—and usually it’s a quality of the light—then I open up the technical box… – Eddie Soloway

Afon Idwal

Talking of Cwm Idwal, “Winter Is Coming” as they say in a well known blockbusting TV show. In all the times I have visited the Cwm in winter I’ve only ever seen the lake freeze once. It’s not totally frozen but it’s well on the way.

Idwal Snow

That’s it for this week. I hope you enjoyed the photographs.

Now I’ve got the time and a broadband connection I’m able to look at other bloggers again. Here’s a selection from the weekly challenge that I have liked this week. Yes, I actually do visit, have a read, and leave a like. I don’t always comment, not unless it’s something that really catches my attention, usually photography related.

Susi Lovell Swan Girl
Attuned Photography Color of Water – Macro
Claudia Curici Photography ‘Asking for Help’
PhotosbyGoldie Reflections (on Water)
Lotus Reflections – Leanne Murphy
through the luminary lens Solar Power, Water, and the Promised Land
janeMcMaster Weekly Photo Challenge- H20
Broken Light- A Photography Collective Psychosis
Julie Powell – Photographer & Graphic Artist WPC – H20
H2O – Photo Challenge – ladyleemanila

4 thoughts on “Weekly Photo Challenge–H2O

Comments are closed.