Against The Odds – I’m Struggling


An ideal subject for this weeks challenge would be the Kingfisher I captured some weeks back and featured in It’s A Kind Of Magic. But I don’t want to show you that, instead I’m going to show you, nothing. Let me explain, at the time of writing this, Saturday 12:07 pm UK time, I’m sitting in my office thinking of what I could show you this week. And my mind’s a blank. I can’t at the moment think of anything that would fit the bill. Mainly because I plan my days out, taking photographs. I know where I’m going. If I’m on the coast, I’ve checked the tide times. In the mountains it’s the weather. I don’t really do spontaneous, instant capture type of photography, even when I’m out on the streets. So this really is going to be a challenge this week, unless I go out with my camera and wait for something to happen…..is that really “against the odds”.

Of course I could just throw some photographs in, write a story around them to make them fit the theme…..now that’s an idea.

Right Fast Forward to Monday 20th, it’s 15:44 UK time (that’s 3:44 pm) and I’ve got my photograph.

Breeding Common Toad

Against All The Odds, sure was. I nearly stood on the pair of them as I was wandering by the river looking for something to photograph. This is a pair of Common Toads, the female is the larger of the two. Now the male is smart. He’s “piggy backed” on the female as she makes her way to the breeding ground. But he may not be the one to finally mate with her as more often than not there are more males than females. If he manages to stay with her for the several days required then that definitely is “against all the odds”

Here’s what other bloggers are saying about this weeks challenge

Photography Journal Blog Weekly Photo Challenge- Against the Odds
Crafting Photolog Weekly Photo Challenge- Lucky Against the Odds
Hot Dogs and Marmalade Play Your Game
Against the odds- The Photo Challenge – I scrap 2
Spirit of Dragonflies WPC – Against the Odds
Photo Challenge- Against All Odds – Tricia T Allen
Ed Lehming Photography “Against the Odds”
Following Him Beside Still Waters Fortuitous Frog Find
Smith Creek-Against the odds photo – Thoughts from an Alabaster Beach Girl
PURSUIT OF HAPPINESS Against the Odds

19 thoughts on “Against The Odds – I’m Struggling

  1. petspeopleandlife February 20, 2017 / 19:31

    Your photo is great, it’s educational and it’s about nature and of course if it’s about nature then I will always like the pic. This is new to me re: the toads. I hope the mating is successful. We needs toads who are good for the environment.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Mike Hardisty February 22, 2017 / 08:47

      Lucky find, Yvonne. It was elaine who spotted it first and told me to watch where I was walking. Unusual for me as well as I’m normally the first to spot anything like that.

      Liked by 1 person

      • petspeopleandlife February 22, 2017 / 19:37

        Good for your wife, Mike. Maybe she should accompany you on all your photography wanderings. Does Elaine do any photographing?

        Liked by 1 person

        • Mike Hardisty March 1, 2017 / 16:18

          Very little, Yvonne. She sometimes comes out with me if I’m going somewhere interesting

          Liked by 1 person

  2. spiritofdragonflies February 20, 2017 / 19:33

    That is quite a capture. From nothing to this – surely against all odds and perfect for this week’s challenge.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Mike Hardisty February 22, 2017 / 08:48

      Lucky as well to spot it, althogh I must give the credit to my wife for spotting this one.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Photography Journal Blog February 21, 2017 / 06:27

    I really enjoyed this post, and thanks for the pingback. That’s a really nice photo. I’ve added it to my twitter feed.
    Cheers!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Mike Hardisty February 22, 2017 / 08:50

      Thank you!. I try each week to read content from other bloggers doing the challenge. If I like them I’ll say so.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. theresagreen February 21, 2017 / 18:35

    A great image and from the way he has half-closed eyes it seems the male is enjoying the experience.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Mike Hardisty February 22, 2017 / 08:53

      From what I’ve read, not yet, that comes later when they reach the river

      Liked by 1 person

  5. jmacindoe February 23, 2017 / 05:01

    Awesome shot!!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. vinneve March 4, 2017 / 09:36

    Funny pic but interesting fact.

    Like

Comments are closed.