Brest, An Unexpected Stopover


So there we were happily sailing across the Bay of Biscay doing about 19 knots. I’m sitting in the 800 seat theatre and I can feel a definite list on the ship. We are changing course, I can’t see it, but I can feel it.

There’s been a medical emergency and we have to turn back to Brest in France. A good few extra hours sailing.

As we approach Brest we pass the concrete German U-Boat pens which are left over from WW2, now used by the French Navy.

Submarine Pens

The ship we are on is one of those massive cruise liners. It’s like an 18 floor , floating apartment block and from the attention we are getting from small craft, ships that size are not often seen in Brest.

Getting Close

We won’t be getting off, just docking, whilst the passenger with the medical emergency is transferred to a French Hospital. The dock we are going into is really a maintenance dock but as the old saying goes “any port in a storm” or in this case emergency.

In Port

As our ship gets alongside the guys working on the one across from us stop work to have a look

Have A Look

News has got around because I’m starting to see photographers on the dockside taking photographs, I’d be the same, too good an opportunity to miss. I would imagine that it’s not that often a 330 m (1,083 ft) long, 70.67 m (232 ft) high ship with a 94 metres (308 ft) national flag of the UK on her bow appears in port.

Let's Photograph That

The transfer is reasonably quick and I hope the passenger who was ill has made a recovery. Our ship sets sail again and as we leave Brest I get a final view of some more concrete emplacements left over from WW2

Leaving Brest

That’s it. I hope you enjoyed this brief trip to Brest with me.

10 thoughts on “Brest, An Unexpected Stopover

  1. maristravels May 30, 2017 / 16:01

    Very interesting. I wish you’d managed to get off at Brest though and managed to write about that place. It’s somewhere I keep on saying I’ll visit when next in France but I never seem to make it. Glad you are enjoying your cruise.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Mike Hardisty May 30, 2017 / 16:05

      Just under an hour to dock, effect the transfer and sail away again. I’ve finished the cruise now and it was enjoyable.

      Like

  2. carto May 30, 2017 / 18:18

    An Opportunity Taken; nice post, thanks.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Mike Hardisty June 1, 2017 / 14:53

      Have camera will travel. I’ve always got a camera with me, sometimes a little point and shoot, sometimes just my phone camera. You never know when you might need it.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. petspeopleandlife May 31, 2017 / 20:11

    Sounds like a great cruise. I’m glad that you can get away and photograph so many interesting sites. I do hope the ill passenger is soon well or has already mended.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Mike Hardisty June 1, 2017 / 14:55

      I’ve no idea what happened to the passenger, Yvonne, although it looked pretty serious though.

      Like

  4. whagerup June 5, 2017 / 09:57

    Very interesting. Would you have a picture or a link to the ship you were on, as it would be interesting to be able to at least mentally contrast the images you posted with the ship you were on.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Mike Hardisty June 5, 2017 / 15:31

      First of all thank you for commenting, always appreciated. Hopefully this link will let you see Britannia, those little yellow dots are people swimming.

      Brittania

      Like

      • Mike Hardisty June 5, 2017 / 15:33

        Well there’s a first for me. In all my years of blogging I never knew you could embed a Flickr link to a photograph

        Like

Comments are closed.