Fire In The Sky


Don’t you just hate it. I started to write this post and then got side-tracked into doing something else. The result is as you can guess, I lost it all. For some reason, Windows Live Writer didn’t do it’s normal auto-recovery so I’m starting again. That’s if I can remember what I originally wrote.

Last week I was invited to a shoot at my favourite lighthouse and better still it was at sunset with an incoming tide. I’d never met any of the other photographers before and they were all travelling from England to be here in North Wales. So there’s my connection to bridge, this weeks challenge.

Talacre Lighthouse

In my camera bag I have some Neutral Density Filters which can be used to slow the shutter speed of the camera down. The filters come in various densities of darkness and the darker the filter the slower the shutter speed becomes. Slow the shutter down enough and moving objects like clouds become blurred and water takes on that milky sort of look. If you want to see more have a look at the photographs on “Longer Exposure, Extreme Neutral Density”.

I don’t use these filters enough, in fact I very rarely get them out of the bag. It was one of those things you buy but end up hardly ever using. So it was good to meet with other photographers who do use them and maybe pick up some pointers along the way. Later we were going to publish some of our photographs to a Facebook group dedicated to Neutral Density Filters.

Talacre Sunset

Lately I’ve noticed that a lot of photographers using Facebook and Instagram seem to be adding a watermark to their photographs. I thought that had more or less died out, but it seems to be having a bit of a revival in recent months.

This is my final photograph for this week and I’ve included a watermark. What do you think? Too intrusive? You don’t like to see them? I’d really appreciate your thoughts on the use of watermarks on photographs.

Fire In The Sky

Well that’s it for this week. As usual here’s what other photographers are saying about this weeks challenge.These are blogs I have visited and left a “like” on, because I did like their photographs.

Nan’s Farm-Inside Out Bridging the Ancient With the New
The View From Wallace Monument – James Collett Photography
Nature & Travel Pix WPC – Bridge
Light Words Weekly Photo Challenge Bridges
The Bridges – Reflections on the river
WPC- Bridges Across the World – Battling the Bone Breaker
Moonlight Reflections Covered Bridges in Parke County, Indiana
simply.cindy Trestle Bridge
Light Words WPC Bridging the Bay Bribging The Seasons
Spirit of Dragonflies WPC – Bridges in Alaska

21 comments

  1. I believe your water mark adds a nice touch. It’s very pretty. Your pictures are amazing and it’s only right that when they are are shared; people know the true origin of them🤗

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Reblogged this on Capture Moments and commented:
    Here’s another wonderful photographer with an amazing talent to capture the essence of his view. I love to look at his photos as they help capture the sense of tranquil peace which is often overlooked. Almost as if they demand you to pause and take a look! I hope you all enjoy them as much as I do!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Mike, this pic of the lighthouse is a memorable one, The sky and the lighthouse are ablaze.The windows at the top appear to have many bright lights shinning in the sunset. It’s really beautiful.

    An added note- I like your water mark. It’s quite pretty and distinctive.

    Liked by 1 person

    • One night Yvonne, that’s all we’ve had in the last week or so where it’s been worth going out. In fact that very night they were predicting heavy thunderstorms for North Wales, and you don’t want to be caught out on an exposed beach if that happens. But as we looked at the sky it was obvious that there weren’t going to be any storms happening. No wind, the sea was pretty calm, hardly any waves, and a pretty balmy evening.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. I know using images without permission is a significant issue but sometimes when I see images completely obliterated by watermarks, I wonder why the photographer is sharing the images at all. Your watermark is attractive and not intrusive.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I’ve played with watermarks over the years, used them, stopped using them, but as i said there’s seems to be a trend of them being used starting. I don’t really look at them as protection, you can soon clone them out in Photoshop, if anything it’s more a case of a bit of advertising. I’m still in two minds whether to use one or not

      Like

  5. Simply fabulous Mike. I like number one best with that sun just starting to shrink away. But they’re all superb – liquid gold! Your watermark looks so elegant – a fine touch. I could never think it intrusive, it goes well on the photograph in my opinion.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I’m still in two minds to use one or not. The problem with Lightroom is it’s either there or not. When I used them in Photoshop I created a brush, that way I could position and choose the size, colour and opacity of the watermark. But I use Lightroom now for nearly all of my processing and it’s publish modules.

      Like

    • Thank you James, It didn’t look like we were going to get a sunset where the whole sky lit up and then suddenly it started to happen. Didn’t last too long either…

      Like

Comments are closed.