Weekly Photo Challenge: Companionable


Photography is more than a hobby for me. It’s a constant companion, a passion in a world I can’t touch. It gives me solace. – Dan Case

I did consider writing about photography this week but felt it was more appropriate to talk about Deefer. As regular readers will know several months ago we had to take a very difficult decision with Rooney our Cavalier King Charles Spaniel.

Our other Cavalier, Deefer, as far as we can tell, hasn’t really missed him. In many ways I’m not surprised, because, although Rooney was younger, he sort of bossed Deefer. (have you got the name yet?).

Deefer will be 10 in October, has the same birthday as me, so he’s somewhat of an old man. Old age has crept up on him, and he’s become very deaf (selective I sometimes think) but his sense of smell is still as strong as it ever was. At night he can sniff the hedgehogs and foxes from far away.

When we go out at night, first thing he does is get that nose in the air, depending on what he smells we either go up the hill, or if the smell is particularly good from downhill that’s the way we go. In other words Deefer takes me a for a walk, not the other way round.

I’m convinced dogs are on a higher plane than us and have mastered the art of telepathy. How do you explain the way I will start thinking about taking him for a walk and within minutes he’s there sitting looking at me with those big brown eyes, ready to go. Or the doggy chocolate drops. How do I know he wants some? It’s not just me, he gets fed around 5pm. At 4:30 he’s there boring into my wife’s eyes with that intensive stare he has. Although my wife tries to ignore him she’s conscious all the time that he’s there staring at her. Just willing her to get up and feed him.

 

28 replies to “Weekly Photo Challenge: Companionable

  1. What a beautiful photo of Deefer 🙂
    I’ll second your thoughts on telepathic dogs, and they can definitely tell the time, five minutes before their meal times, I’ll get that stare too.

    Like

  2. He is adorable and somewhat dirty from his walk in the sand… I know what you mean about the stare… If I ignore my dog, she moves a little closer, then a little closer… it is so cute… then finally rests her chin on my knee (just in case I didn’t see her.)

    Like

  3. What an adorable guy – I miss the companionship of dogs (but don’t tell my cat) & it’s not just dogs that are telepathic, though I remember my dogs certainly were. Thanks for the pingback :-).

    Like

  4. Love your photos Mike and we just got our first dog in 20 years six months ago. He knows my thoughts better than my own husband. Lovely perspective of your dog; may he life many more years. Cherish each day!

    Like

    1. Hello Liz, thanks for commenting. The only way I could get the angle was to lie down. I tried it a few times and he kept moving. Just about to give up when he struck that pose.

      Like

  5. Lovely portrait indeed. Lulu also gets fed at 5pm but is always trying to advance it by as much as possible. She starts nudging our ankles around 4.30 and sometimes barks a reminder in case we have forgotten. I wouldn’t be without a dog now. Our last dog lived to 16 so hopefully Deefer has a few years ahead still.

    Like

  6. Deefer is one handsome dog. He looks quite regal with his nose sort of in the air. I laughed as I read that he takes you for the walks.I can’t think of a better walking partner than your dog. Here’s hoping he has some very good years ahead to take you on those walks.

    Like

    1. He is a character, Yvonne. A range of facial expressions from grumpy old man through to smiling. Right now he’s sitting in the garden having chased the pigeons away from the bird feeders. He knows they will come back and this is an easy game to,play in the morning. Nose is in the air sniffing, as usual. Later we will go to beach and he will try and stop people hoping they will pet him. His technique is to see them coming, he’ll veer into their path, wag his tail like they’re his long lost friends and hopefully sucker them in. If he does, he secures his capture by sitting on their feet.

      Like

      1. Mike thanks so much for writing about more of Deefer’s antics/ploys. He is indeed a smart dog. Such a good dog who thrives on affection. I bet he brings some smiles to people who might not otherwise have been so happy before Deefer sat on their feet. And a walk on the beach sure is beneficial for you and Deefer. Just wanted to add a last thought to reply to me. 🙂

        Like

  7. I can’t imagine a life without a dog – to keep us alert, get us out of the house for a walk, to love and be loved, to come and ask for a scratch…. .

    Like

  8. This is a wonderful picture of Deefer. It shows a lot about his character and I like how his eyes are looking further at something.

    Like

Comments are closed.

close-alt close collapse comment ellipsis expand gallery heart lock menu next pinned previous reply search share star