Weekly Photo Challenge: One Shot, Two Ways


Normally if I’m shooting a landscape photograph I’ll orient the camera, err, in landscape mode. Sort of makes sense…..

Weekly Photo Challenge: One Shot, Two Ways

—or does it?

Sometimes, what I’m really after is to show the clouds and now it makes sense to shoot in portrait mode

Weekly Photo Challenge: One Shot, Two Ways

However, the big problem is that I lose some of the interest from the side of the photograph. In this instance I’ve compensated by making the foreground interest considerably larger, but in all honesty I prefer the landscape version.

What about you, landscape or portrait?

 

24 replies to “Weekly Photo Challenge: One Shot, Two Ways

  1. Landscape mode is the bes one. There is too much sky in portrait mode but it is still an excellent photo as well. This is a really pretty country and you are doing justice with your superb photography.

    Like

    1. Hy Yvonne, I’ve been photographing far too many churches recently, it’s time to get back out and photograph the beautiful landscape that’s all around me.

      Like

  2. I like both of your photos and I think there are often reasons to shoot landscapes in portrait mode. For one thing, how boring is it to always have one view? I like mixing up the format. Each photo may not be a masterpiece, but going through my photos is much more interesting with directional change.

    Like

  3. You have the Daily Post Digest to thank for me finding your post – had to have a look at that landscape, and landscape wins in this instance I think. But it is always fun to try something different, and great when it works!

    Like

Comments are closed.

close-alt close collapse comment ellipsis expand gallery heart lock menu next pinned previous reply search share star